Noob and need some beginner help/suggestions
    Tech Student

Default Noob and need some beginner help/suggestions

Alright, im brand new to mixing and making beats. I have some experience with Fruity Loops and protools from when i was in high school but other than garage band i have no experience. Im wanting to get an easy to use program and a simple midi controller that i can learn the fundamentals of mixing and beat making with. i know traktor is popular around here and im interested in trying it, Is it too complicated for a beginner or is it good to use to learn the basics? i was also looking to get a korg nanoKEY or nanoPad to use along with the program. any suggestions would be very much appreciated. Thanks guys!

-Nick

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

For a start, Traktor isn't too complicated. They give you a basic keypad set up, and with some modifications to a nanokey or pad you should be fine.

If you're interested in beatmaking, though, then Traktor can't really help you.

If you're willing to just throw yourself into it, you might want to look into Ableton. Yeah it might be really complicated, but with some patience, tutorials and books you would probably go more in the direction you want.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall

Tech Student

Cool man, i appreciate that. Do you recomend Logic pro at all?

I know lots of people that use and love Logic. If you're on a Mac and have the need for all it offers then I'd say rock the fuck on. Learning curve is fucking epically steep, though
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

Divided we stand
    United we fall

Tech Student

Yeah it does seem really complicated. ill check out Ableton for sure im gunna have to find some serious tutorial vids first. Thanks again bro

Not a problem at all.

Watch em for Logic too.

But I have a feeling Ableton will be more your styyle.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

Divided we stand
    United we fall