Volume issues when mixing...
    Tech Convert

Default Volume issues when mixing...

Hi all, I want to thank anyone in advance for helping me with these issues.

I've been deejaying for a little over a year so, obviously, I am still learning a lot, even the essentials. I attempt to mix all sorts of genres, mostly what beatport classifies as "nu-disco/indie dance", with a tinge of dubstep, house, trance, etc. The issues I'm about to discuss could very well be the result of not having enough music to really have tracks that fit well together, but here goes:

I mix with the line faders and keep the xfader in the middle. I find, however, that I have consistent issues with maintaining the volume level, sometimes becoming too loud by crowding frequencies, other times becoming too low when I drop out one of the tracks from the mix. This could all be a trial and error thing, as I am still a complete novice at EQ mixing. I do all the basics like cutting the bass frequency of the new track and whatnot, but the main issue is which level on the line fader do I bring in the new track? I've been told never to have both line faders at 100%, so I avoid this, but when I try an do the switch on line faders (one at 100% and the other at 80% and switch), you can hear the drop in volume. I use the meters to gauge the levels, but still have this constant issue of the mix's levels going all over the place.

Another question is on transitions. My current setup is Traktor, ext mixer, and axiom 25, and I'm having trouble finding ways to transition creatively, which the type of music I play tends to require. I can't do transitions strictly through beat matching because a lot of my tracks don't have the long buildups, breakdowns, etc. that are DJ friendly. Any wisdom is greatly appreciated!

-T9

Tech Mentor

I you can't beatmatch there are options.