How many of you can read music?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How many of you can read music?

Just out of curiosity, how many of you guys can read music? The only reason I can is because I used to play guitar and pushed myself to learn it.

Additionally, do you guys know anything about music theory.... key signatures, scales, chord structures, etc?

I'm no pro at it all, so this isn't meant to rub my ego. Just curious.
    LamboxMusic.com
    Newest release: A Pimp's Overture in B-Flat Minor
    Check out my free "Robo Rhythm" EP: Here

Soundcloud - Facebook - Twitter

i played for almost 18 years the sax, in which i had 13 years of lesson with a teacher. started with 7 on an alto. i was like in every band in my school and am jamming mondays in my local jazz club.. but i'm not practicing very much, cause the vci is more fun now
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

Quote Originally Posted by weltraumpapst View Post
    i played for almost 18 years the sax, in which i had 13 years of lesson with a teacher. started with 7 on an alto. i was like in every band in my school and am jamming mondays in my local jazz club.. but i'm not practicing very much, cause the vci is more fun now
    Nearly exactly the same as weltraumpapst but starting with the Tenor sax and only 14 years playing. Don't play anymore, but still read music and remember most of the theory.

13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

Tech Guru

Played piano for 7 years. Also played percussion in the school band for 5 years(I know I was a band geek)

I found it has helped me alot, from basic theory and just having a musical instinct at a young age.
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.