Anyone know anything about live sound?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Anyone know anything about live sound?

I just picked up a pair of Peavey SP 5G's for a great price used, but I need a power amp for them, I have no idea as to what I need to look for in the amp specs.... Can anybody help me out with this? I'm a bit strapped for cash, I was hoping I could get an amp for these @ $300 max? Preferably lower....

Specs of the speakers -

15'' Woofer
    1/4 Inputs
    Max Power Handling= 250W continuous, 500W Program, 1,000W Peak

P.S. - What the hell do continuous and program mean?

P.S.S - Some Ideas?

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Crown-XL...38-i1145681.gc

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Mackie-F...67-i1166262.gc
    All I have to do is play music, and make sure it is fist pumpin material.

Tech Guru

I know Samson aint bad, seen em on a few set ups

I'm just trying to get an idea of how much money I have to spend and what caliber of amp I need...

I'm a sound tech! Have you got a mixer, or were you looking to plug your DJ rig directly into the amp? Something like this may be closer to what you need, with some processing and eq built in. With a few more details I can help you more, so feel free to PM me and we can figure out exactly what you need.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Behringe...90-i1448435.gc

Awesome! thank you! PM sent!

Anaheim Hills, CA, Lake Havasu, Az, & Las Vegas, Nv

just make sure the amp you want will supply enough wattage to power both speakers, also don't over spend on more wattage than you need... (it usually labels the wattage on the back of each speaker)

Tech Guru