Technical Info on USB MIDI - 7 Bit and 14 Bit
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Technical Info on USB MIDI - 7 Bit and 14 Bit

I studied analog and digital communications in college, and I've done a little research on USB and MIDI I/O. I wrote up a blog post (since it is too long for a forum) that explains the differences between MIDI 5-Pin and MIDI USB, as well as 7-bit MIDI from 14-bit MIDI.

This should answer most of your questions about what happens between hitting a button on your USB Midi Controller and Traktor receiving a MIDI message. Obviously the mapper maps the message to the software function.

I wrote this up to hopefully help someone who is converting to the digital world and/or for someone that just wants to know what's happening with his or her devices. Feel free to comment in the forum or in the comments of the blog. I may have left some things out. See the following URL:

http://djvandraken.blogspot.com/2010...nd-14-bit.html

Edit: This blog post does not get into the nitty gritty of tech-details, and it leaves out some crucial information on processing, A/D conversion, software, and hardware. It should still help you understand the basic differences though.
    Last edited by DJ Van Draken; 02-09-2010 at 05:14 PM. Reason: to further clarify

Good read!

13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

Your blog keeps becoming better good job on this article

Tech Guru

Dude, hardcore props for doing this. You have my appreciation

DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar

Great article - Im sure that is going to help a lot of people.

I think your statement about 14 bit midi & zero latency is a bit of the mark though.