New Guy looking to start up.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default New Guy looking to start up.

Hey guys, I'm kinda new to the whole djing thing. I wanted to know if anyone can help me find the equipment I'm looking for. Here what i need:
    1.Something light. (I have a mac book pro)
    2.Good enough to use for parties in moderately large areas.

I was thinking of something like Stanton scs systems or a vestax vci-100SE. I'm really interested in the whole sound manipulation. obviously I'm lost, I'd like to use the stuff I named. anything else I'm missing? please help! Thanks.

Tech Mentor

you will need a DVS system of some description. I personally use Traktor Scratch and love it but there are other DVS systems on the market such as Serato.

this will cost around £400.

what kind of music will u be playing because you some controllers will work better depending on what your trying to do.
    i suppose you couldnt go wrong with the vestax vci-100SE regardless of style

Tech Wizard

If u want something u can take with u simply and u don't want timecode, then u should go for the VCI-100 with a small sound card like the Audio 2 or Audio 4 dj. Or if u want to mix external and want to save some money, the new traktor kontrol X1 wouldn't be a bad choice then.
    Macbook Pro, VCI-100 FW 1.3, Traktor Pro, Audio 2 DJ

It's all about the house music, and it always will be.

Tech Convert

Quote Originally Posted by manus View Post
    you will need a DVS system of some description. I personally use Traktor Scratch and love it but there are other DVS systems on the market such as Serato.

what kind of music will u be playing because you some controllers will work better depending on what your trying to do.
    i was looking around and that term came up alot. what exactly is a dvs system?

short form for digital-vinyl-system.