Using the VCI-100 to manually beatmatch
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor fusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    116

    Default Using the VCI-100 to manually beatmatch

    Hi,

    As the title suggests, i was wondering if it is possible to use the VCI's jogwheels with the 3.4 mapping to manually beatmatch, or is it still not accurate enough?

    Thanks heaps =D
    fusion

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    You can enough to had a bit of a mix with but no it isn't terribly accurate

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor fusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Ah right, thanks heaps for your reply..

    Im guessing there is no real other way to do it, without either buying a controller with 14 bit midi messages, or timecoded vinyl / cds?

    Thanks heaps for your help Bento

  4. #4
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    if it's a question of accuracy you can tweak the sensitivity of the wheels in the mapping. got it feeling like my old denon cdjs (weren't great compared to some other models/makes) but they did the job

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    389

    Default

    I bought the VCI about 8 months after it came out, and was beatmatching by ear on it for about 1.5 years.
    Co-founder, Promoter and DJ for Easy Love, an independent promotions company for dance events in Edmonton, AB.

    Check out our blog for more information - www.easylovedance.com.

  6. #6
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default Re: Using the VCI-100 to manually beatmatch

    I beatmatch with the jog wheel all the time. I have it setup in cdj mode and my pitch fader to 6% to fine tune the bpms
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Coast, United States
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Yeah, it can be a pain if you're used to cdjs/TTs, but it's totally do-able. I find that for pitch faders it works well to have them set direct to your preferred pitch range, then use a shift modifier to set them to a relative smaller range for fine adjust (maybe +/- 3%, sensitivity dependent on how much you have your larger range set to). That way you can get a general match first, then really dial it in with a shift. Add a tempo nudge backward and forward on some jogs or buttons and make sure to add a tempo slider reset somewhere in your mapping and you will be good to go!
    MacBook 2.4GHz, 6GB, Traktor Pro, Ableton Live, Bomes MT, Audio Kontrol 1, Vestax VCI-100 SE Custom, M-Audio Axiom 25, Akai APC40, NI Maschine, 2x Midi Fighters (c/o DJ TechTools - Thanks!!)

    Mixcloud DJ Sets

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •