Worries about buying controllers/laptops.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Worries about buying controllers/laptops.

So within the next two weeks I will be buying a controller. I have little experience other than playing on friends turntables, and I've decided that controllerism is the route I want to go. So here is me typing out my personal thought process and hoping you guys can help me decide where to go.

Thank you in advance for taking a look at my wall of text and helping me clear up a few questions before I spend a lot of hard earned cash.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So here is what I have at the moment:

Cracked Version of Traktor Scratch Pro - works fine, no problems that I've encountered. I plan on buying software as soon as I buy a controller, I only downloaded it to check it out since I was only familiar with Torq/SSL in the past. So before you bash me about this, it's just a learning experience and no one I know uses it, when I get a controller I plan on buying the software I will use with it (and whatever the case, I'll be cleaning my computer out when I feel I can really mix).

Logitech Surround Sound Speakers

Korg nanoKey and nanoPad

Decent PC with 4gb ram and a healthy hard-drive (and a couple externals) running windows Vista Home.

I used to download crap MP3's without buying them, but I basically trashed all of them and am starting fairly fresh with buying my own music, generally from Beatport. I'm not really that interested in driving an hour to the closest record shop to try and find vinyl, and I really want to pursue something in a digital fashion with MP3's.