Digital DJ'ing and PA systems
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Digital DJ'ing and PA systems

    Hey guys, i've been thinking about picking up a VCI-100 and the mappings/fw when I can afford it, but I have a few questions. How do you guys meter and output sound to your PA system, i run xlr outs from my mixer to my pa, but with an audio interface most of them are line level out -10db, where pa amps take +4db. I know it will work but it will be alot quieter. I know there are interfaces with louder balanced outs, but there are only a few, and some without headphone amps. I'm liking the price and size of the audio 2 dj, i know the outs aren't balanced but apparently they go to 8db, if i were to go this route, how would i meter my sound? Isn't the meter in tracktor pre out?

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Brisbane AEST
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shaneB View Post
    Hey guys, i've been thinking about picking up a VCI-100 and the mappings/fw when I can afford it, but I have a few questions. How do you guys meter and output sound to your PA system, i run xlr outs from my mixer to my pa, but with an audio interface most of them are line level out -10db, where pa amps take +4db. I know it will work but it will be alot quieter. I know there are interfaces with louder balanced outs, but there are only a few, and some without headphone amps. I'm liking the price and size of the audio 2 dj, i know the outs aren't balanced but apparently they go to 8db, if i were to go this route, how would i meter my sound? Isn't the meter in tracktor pre out?
    I run the outs from the Audio 2 into a mixer and onto the rig from there, gives you flexibility over channel control, either in internal or external mixer mode and thence more flex over output volumes as you can amp it from the application, the audio 2 levels and the mixer levels so you aren't driving anything too hard in the chain, seems to work for me anyway.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darryljames View Post
    I run the outs from the Audio 2 into a mixer and onto the rig from there, gives you flexibility over channel control, either in internal or external mixer mode and thence more flex over output volumes as you can amp it from the application, the audio 2 levels and the mixer levels so you aren't driving anything too hard in the chain, seems to work for me anyway.

    This ^
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    107

    Default

    I wannted to avoid that, but I allready haver a mixer and a serato box so I cold go that route. The the ponit of gong digital controler based for me is to cu down on the gear I take to gigs. I'm looking for an interface with balanced outs and a meter, I know the knotrol 6 has this but I don't have FireWire

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard Gameboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shane View Post
    I wannted to avoid that, but I allready haver a mixer and a serato box so I cold go that route. The the ponit of gong digital controler based for me is to cu down on the gear I take to gigs. I'm looking for an interface with balanced outs and a meter, I know the knotrol 6 has this but I don't have FireWire
    You mean the Konnekt 6, right ? Seems to be a nice product. Any experiences ?
    Xone 22 -- Kontrol X1 -- A4DJ -- TPro -- 13" MBP

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gameboy View Post
    You mean the Konnekt 6, right ? Seems to be a nice product. Any experiences ?
    Yeah thats what I ment, no i dont own it, but it looks perfect for what i want. It has balanced out's and a meter / headphone amp, problom is that I'm about to order a new laptop and all the options i have don't include firewire . I need to find a usb solution. The other issue witht he konnekt 6 is that it requires an ext. power supply i believe. I wish i could run the audio 2 directly to my PA system, then i would save of space/weight/money.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    107

    Default

    hmm the "PRESONUS AUDIOBOX USB" looks good, it has balanced outs and a headphone amp, usb bus powered. The only thing is how would i meter it? If im in a club or anywhere with a legit pa setup there with be a mixer to do that with. I'm looking for a solution for my b52 matrix-1000, so i can stay as light as possible and not have to bring around my mixer too. In the future i want to get 2 tapco thumps and just use those for house parties, as they are light as small, yet still have some power for a small gig. Anyways.. hows the metering in tacktor, will that work? Say i'm going trs out of the audiobox to xlr in on my pa, with my volume set at 50% on the amp (as rec. by b52). Hmm i could also look into some sore of external meter / eq device that i just give it -10 line lvl outputs and it amps it to +4 dbu, then i can just get away with my serato box possibly, then again the serato box can't drive my headphones loud.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard audioPoison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    26

    Default

    The Audiobox isn't able to cue headphones
    13" MacBook, VCI-100SE, Audio 2 DJ

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by audioPoison View Post
    The Audiobox isn't able to cue headphones
    seems like the audio2dj might be one of my only options, i need to find something with usb, headphone amp / separate out, and balanced +4dbu audio, so a 4 output sound card. Have you tried running the audio2dj straight to a PA system?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shane View Post
    I wannted to avoid that, but I allready haver a mixer and a serato box so I cold go that route. The the ponit of gong digital controler based for me is to cu down on the gear I take to gigs. I'm looking for an interface with balanced outs and a meter, I know the knotrol 6 has this but I don't have FireWire
    Most of my gigs are in bars with installed kit, so it's easier to plug into their gear rather than bugger about with it.
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •