Rave Playlist HELP
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Rave Playlist HELP

I am a high school sophomore and I double as a mobile DJ playing mainly pop songs back to back. It requires almost no skill but its a good side job. At the last dance I did I got a lot of requests for basshunter (the only techno they've heard). The buzz in the hallways of our school is that kids want a rave.

So I've organized one.

Now I have to get ready to DJ.

I've watched many of Ean's videos and I'm practicing no stop.

One place I'm stuck is the playlist. I have downloaded some collections of songs but I have no idea whats good and whats not. At this point I don't even know the difference between house, trance and techno.

Anyway, I digress. What songs should I play do you guys have any suggestions. What songs are you're essentials. I was thinking maybe some dance remixes of pop songs because that's what these guys are familiar with.

Also, any tips for a noob like me?

Thanks so much

Tech Guru

go to raves. study the scene, study the music. listen to dj mixtapes and study the playlists to get familiar with the names of producers. practice for atleast a year in your bedroom or until you're confident in your technical skills and musical knowledge. best tip i can give ya mate.

I don't want to speak for everybody here, but I assume most of the people here at djtechtools do the DJ thing because it gives us the chance to play the music we like, not to play what everyone else is playing... but if you want to know what all the popular dance music songs are you can checkout Beatport and see whats on the Top 10 lists.
    Last edited by wrong chris; 03-13-2010 at 08:39 PM.

Start here: http://techno.org/electronic-music-guide/ this will give you a grasp on the different genre's within electronic music...