Help: M-Audio Oxygen Mod

Default Help: M-Audio Oxygen Mod

So im planning on doing my first mod by tearing apart my old Oxygen controller. This is going to be a complete restructuring, more or less similar to Moldovers new controller. Now keep in mind im almost a complete NOOB when it comes to this stuff.

I have a limited understanding of electronics however i am not sure what i would be able to customize using the existing hardware that is provided. Here are some questions for the community.

Is it possible to wire a arcade button in replacement of one of the keys?
    Is is possible to take multiple keys and rewire them as a cross fader?
    Is there any way to implement LED on and off?

On another note im also looking for a program that i can use to design my layout. Any suggestions?
    Dj Krilikz‡ -

Seems like a big project to tackle. Id start off with the rewiring of the keys->arcade buttons. you may end up having to solder lead wires from the sources but it shouldnt be too bad. I'd break those down in to 3 different proejcts and as you finish one off start on the other. It will cause less frustration and will also give you a boost of confidence once you finish one up. I started to do a mod similar to this with mashing to keyboards together but Uncle Sam called me up and im sitting in the Sandbox till next fall. Good luck to you in your project and POST PICS!!!

-- Combat DJ and avid DJTT reader

Interesting idea...

I just picked up a Oxygen 49 v3. So I have my Oxy 25 that I was wonder if I should sell it. But I think I'm going to open it up and see what's inside. If it has all the hook ups on the pcb for the faders of the 49/61, I can see using it as the "brain" for a 4 channel midi mixer. Else, I might just pick up another 49 at $135 and start from there. Cheaper "brain" than the Livid and fully programmable via the onboard interface.

Cheers, Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro