Traktor Looping Question
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard jasonmd2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Middle of frakkin' nowhere Michigan
    Posts
    25

    Default Traktor Looping Question

    I use Traktor to perform my own tracks by taking variations on a beat or phrase and juggling them. every so often, I'll loop a beat on one of the turntables, while scratching on the other, or playing keys over the top. And here comes the problem:

    This new track I'm working on is in 3/4 time, and all the looping parameters in Traktor assume 4/4. :eek:

    Anybody know a way around this?
    "The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
    -Hunter S. Thompson

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Heres an example of what you need to do:

    Drop a 4 bar loop

    Change the loop mode to loop out

    Set the loop move size to 1

    now press the < button to decrease the size of the loop by 1 beat

    You now have a 3 beat loop

  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Hes right... Genius.
    I was actually thinking about this in bed last nite.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    307

    Default

    damn bento! Thats awesome!
    Silly DJ loops are for kids!

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor deco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
    Posts
    185

    Default

    and then store that as a hotloop so you've got it for future use (will show up green)

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard jasonmd2020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Middle of frakkin' nowhere Michigan
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Thanx for the help guys. Just tried it and it worked fine. Now I just gotta add those extra buttons to the Midifighter so I can do this on the fly!
    "The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side."
    -Hunter S. Thompson

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •