Noob with some questions :]
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Noob with some questions :]

Hey guys I am new to dj'ing, I was just wondering if you know of any good tutorials on traktor pro. All i can find is stuff on looping. I was also wondering whats a good controller to think about investing in for someone just learning how all this stuff works. I was looking at the typhoon and the VCI-100 SE by vestax. I was hoping you guys could point me in the right direction.
    Thanks in advance :]

DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar

Welcome..!

For tutorials on Traktor check out the DJTTs You Tube page. Eans tuts are excellent. His Beatgrid tutorial video is the best there is.

Check the Free tutorials at : http://www.traktorbible.com/en/traktorbible.aspx
    If you want an all-in-one reference on Traktor (after reading the Official Manual) then check out the Traktor Bible book. Its excellent. (im biased as i worked on it).

Personally i would save a little more money and get the VCI 100 not the Typhoon if your gonna be serious about controllerism. The SE version is specific to DJ Tech Tools you dont actually need an SE although they are nice, you could just get a standard VCI 100.

Thats a start. Im sure the guys will come in with more advice.

Karlos

+1 on what Karlos said.

As the DJTT community is well versed in the VCI-100, I went in that direction and am really pleased with my choice. As Karlos pointed out a regular VCI is OK, but for the same price (depending on where you live), yo can get an SE with the latest overlay and firmware 1.3. The next piece of equipment you will need is a good audio interface (i.e. soundcard). This is important for two reasons, sound quality and most important to be able to hear your cues. The sound card choice is really vast, but if you know basically what you want to do (just mix, DVS, do some production, play real instruments, add a mic, etc.) we can point you in the direction of what will suit your need and budget.

Phil.