VCI 100 and Ableton... possible?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    62

    Default VCI 100 and Ableton... possible?

    Hi,

    Anyone out there usign VCI 100 and Ableton 6 or higher? If so, how did u assign controls, tracks, eqs, etc? I try to map the knobs to the VCI but I only get full or no frquencies...

    I know the VCI is more suited for tracktor but...

    THanks..
    MacBook Pro late 2009 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 500gb HD @ 7200 RPM, Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 6, VCI 100, Audio 8 DJ

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    When you are midi learning the EQ's make sure you are not midi learning the middle position of the knob, crank it all the way to the left or right, then turn off midi learn mode. The middle position on the eq's sends note on/off and is what is making the eq's toggle on and off.

  3. #3
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,004

    Default

    MIDI learn, and it will answer.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Well, knobs are working now.. same as faders / crossfaders.

    Now the good stuff:
    -how to move up / down in an audio channel and select a clip
    - punch in an effect
    - loop

    I know that the best option is to get a different controller but no money to do that..

    Thx in advance!
    MacBook Pro late 2009 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 500gb HD @ 7200 RPM, Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 6, VCI 100, Audio 8 DJ

  5. #5
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,004

    Default

    You mean scene or clip selection?
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    62

    Default

    clip selection
    MacBook Pro late 2009 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 500gb HD @ 7200 RPM, Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 6, VCI 100, Audio 8 DJ

  7. #7
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    When you go into midi learn mode you will see some buttons appear on the right hand side of the screen interface. You need to midi learn those to controls on your device - it take a print screen but i dont have ableton installed right at this moment(just upgraded my music partition to Vista).

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    62

    Default

    left, up and down arrows... got it!
    IŽll do it tonite... will report my results later...
    MacBook Pro late 2009 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 500gb HD @ 7200 RPM, Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 6, VCI 100, Audio 8 DJ

  9. #9
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,004

    Default

    That should be it idd.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  10. #10
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jgcamil View Post
    left, up and down arrows... got it!
    IŽll do it tonite... will report my results later...
    Yup you got it !
    Have fun with that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •