"naturally" shifts tempo?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    322

    Default "naturally" shifts tempo?

    Don't ask me why I'm trying to beatgrid this drivel, but the verses are 132 bpm and the chorus seems to be 133.5. Seriously? I'm currently about to drop it into ableton live and stretch it out, but I don't really know why I'm even bothering. (actually I secretly like this tune. shhhhh....)

    I've heard of boosting the bpm during the chorus of a tune to give it more energy as a production, but have never seen it done (nor done it myself) until now... and now it's just annoying me. Sorry. Had to rant.

  2. #2

    Default

    well, think of what part you're going to be mixing in/out of, and grid it for that. then just don't mix in/out in whatever section is going to be a different bpm. or just warp it :P
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    223

    Default

    Lol I had this problem when beatgridding one of Wolfgang Gartner's songs the other day...

    Spent like 20 minutes trying to figure out the issue and then just left it as best as it could be, leaving the bpm at about 128.812 or something like that haha.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Shane Says's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Providence
    Posts
    459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djhipnotikk View Post
    well, think of what part you're going to be mixing in/out of, and grid it for that. then just don't mix in/out in whatever section is going to be a different bpm.
    I don't think that would work since the faster tempo of the chorus will throw off the alignment of the post chorus from matching the pre chorus (don't know if that made sense). It probably will need to be warped. Or you can do it by ear!!!

  5. #5
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shane Says View Post
    I don't think that would work since the faster tempo of the chorus will throw off the alignment of the post chorus from matching the pre chorus (don't know if that made sense). It probably will need to be warped.
    grid marker after the chorus

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Shane Says's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Providence
    Posts
    459

    Default

    Why didn't I think of that?!

  7. #7
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default


    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    322

    Default

    meh I already warped it... took about as much time as putting a grid after each chorus would but now the whole thing is a nice 132 bpm all the way through.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru pilmat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    963

    Default

    Booooo!!! Gotta learn to work with the stuff as is. Not to say that a little post production doesn't help some times, but I like the challenge of leaving the song as is and finding a way to mix with it. To each their own.

    I think I'll try to warp French Kiss and see what it gives, LOL.

    Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro
    Apogee Duet 2; Reason; Ableton 8; 49SL MkII; Maschine Mikro; Launchpad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •