Competent with the basic midi functions in Traktor, need help with Modifiers
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default Competent with the basic midi functions in Traktor, need help with Modifiers

    I like to think I have a pretty solid foundation when it comes to Traktor Pro and it's Midi interface, but I'm trying to learn how the modifiers work exactly.

    Current example/issue I'm working on. I have a fader on my Nano Kontrol set up as my Seek Position when trying to line up my deck on a beat so I can set CUE points, but every once in awhile I'll bump it and it throws the track way off when playing live.

    I'm trying to set it up so that it's only active when I hold a key down on my keyboard, but can't seem to get it to work.

    Is there something I'm missing?

    Cheers and thanks for the help

  2. #2
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    827

    Default

    I'm not sure what settings you have tried yet, but try this:
    The button on your keyboard should be set to Modifier#1, then in the Button Options select '1' and leave the modifier conditions blank.
    Then, the fader on the Nano kontrol should be set to the function you need it to be, and set modifier conditions to be M1, value: 1.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Tried what you suggested, still not getting anywhere

  4. #4
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Hmm, I remember some topic about cross-controller modifiers not working correctly, I'll look into it, hope I can find something..

    Just as a quick test: if you set the modifier to be a button on the nano kontrol, does it work then?

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    I'll give that a try

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Phuck, seems like that was the problem.Looks like I have to go through and come up with a new layout for my Nano now.

    Thanks for the help mate, appreciate it!

  7. #7
    Tech Guru sj03w4t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Okay I understand the issue now, it's outlined in this thread. Modifiers are not global, but there is a fix in that thread, so read that

    I'm off to bed now (it's 0:35), sorry I hope this has helped you, goodnight

  8. #8

    Default

    For modifiers to work across different controllers or the keyboard, then you have to set the device that will set that modifier to midi in / out, to 'all'.

    However, for midi devices, this can also cause problems with the same notes on both controllers causing conflicts.
    www.djmoonie.co.uk
    The Left for dead show
    (GMT+0) Tuesdays Midnight til 1.30am, on www.phonic.fm,
    or 106.8fm in the south west of england.
    For private bookings, please use www.djmoonie.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •