traktor pro grids off after normalization
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default traktor pro grids off after normalization

    hey mates,

    so i bought platinum notes 3 (which i am very happy with so far) and normalized all my traktor files. while all my mp3s are now really at the same volume (which they werent with macmp3gain), the grids went off just a little.

    i suppose, since my mp3s had less volume before, i couldn't see the waveform as clearly and mapped it all wrong by just a little. i can sync those files without any problems but i wont be able to sync them to new ones (which of course i'll grid correctly).

    is there a better solution than deleting the traktor tags and gridding them all over again?
    "its not designed to impress mozart ffs its meant for ppl to rave out to." - unknown
    LAZERNOIZE Latest Gig Recording (50Min. of Trap+Dubstep)

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,328

    Default

    Turn the pitch correction off in MiK. Thats always been a pain for grids mate.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  3. #3

    Default

    they're all off but it just corrects the pitch amount on some. or is it like a bug that screws up all the grid?
    "its not designed to impress mozart ffs its meant for ppl to rave out to." - unknown
    LAZERNOIZE Latest Gig Recording (50Min. of Trap+Dubstep)

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,328

    Default

    I'm not sure if its a bug or not mate. i guess the pitch correction ever so slightly stretches or shrinks parts of the track and thats what can mess things up.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  5. #5

    Default

    so i figure you dont use pitch correction at all? i mean it helps with harmonic mixing, doesnt it?

    i tried converting it without it, but i still have the same problem. all grids a little off. there is no way to move all grid by a certain amount, right?
    "its not designed to impress mozart ffs its meant for ppl to rave out to." - unknown
    LAZERNOIZE Latest Gig Recording (50Min. of Trap+Dubstep)

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor pepehouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny (S)pain
    Posts
    194

    Default

    And why would one want to normalize the tunes for playing in Traktor if the program has an autogain feature?

    Also I don't understand the point of using PN, is a total scam, it doesn't do anything to the files but normalize them and it's only good for WAVs because if you put mp3s there it re-encodes them, totally screwing the sound quality.
    "I was caught so many times getting oral sex in the booth it was disgusting. I would tell the girls, "Bet you can't make me miss a beat"" (Francis Grasso)

    Home
    Mixcloud

  7. #7
    Tech Guru eastcoastams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    549

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duttylectric View Post
    hey mates,

    so i bought platinum notes 3 (which i am very happy with so far) and normalized all my traktor files. while all my mp3s are now really at the same volume (which they werent with macmp3gain),
    Eek go here...I'm sure there are plenty of other people in the forum who don't know about normalizing so this might help someone else out too

    I actually stumbled upon this earlier today
    http://www.hometracked.com/2008/04/2...normalization/
    Last edited by eastcoastams; 05-16-2010 at 08:47 PM.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor janzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    378

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pepehouse View Post
    Also I don't understand the point of using PN, is a total scam, it doesn't do anything to the files but normalize them and it's only good for WAVs because if you put mp3s there it re-encodes them, totally screwing the sound quality.
    Yeah I never got that either... like you said, autogain bumps up the volume to the peak which is exactly what normalization does, also, auto pitch correction on tracks produced digitally? Haven't those been fine tuned already? On "analog" tracks I could understand it but not something that basically hasn't left binary world. I wouldn't screw with my mp3s at all, there are no auto fixes...

    Oh but I digress - if the software automatically "corrects" (?) pitch, maybe it's stretching them which will screw up your grids
    I used to link music in my signature but nowadays I don't.

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pepehouse View Post
    And why would one want to normalize the tunes for playing in Traktor if the program has an autogain feature?
    because sometimes the relative levels of different tracks is way different. if you normalise the tracks in some software like PN (i actually use mp3Gain for this) then you don't even need to use autogain. actually i've used traktor for almost 6 years and never used that feature to be honest. a little tweak here and there on the gain knob is all thats usually necessary.
    Last edited by Jester; 05-17-2010 at 05:02 AM.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor pepehouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Sunny (S)pain
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ View Post
    because sometimes the relative levels of different tracks is way different. if you normalise the tracks in some software like PN (i actually use mp3Gain for this) then you don't even need to use autogain. actually i've used traktor for almost 6 years and never used that feature to be honest. a little tweak here and there on the gain knob is all thats usually necessary.
    Yeah, and if you use autogain you don't need to normalize the tracks, is the same, the difference is that when you normalize you need to spend some time doing it and use a third party software and it also modifies the volume of your tunes making them sound different to how they were made, it just doesn't makes sense to me, autogain is faster, non destructive and all you have to do is to enable it in Traktor's preferences.
    "I was caught so many times getting oral sex in the booth it was disgusting. I would tell the girls, "Bet you can't make me miss a beat"" (Francis Grasso)

    Home
    Mixcloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •