USB sound card questions...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,055

    Default USB sound card questions...

    yes...i have searched...new to computer DJing...just got an m-audio xsesson pro..works great...i like it...

    i have two pioneer CDJs (old school ones no pc support) one technics 1200 and my m-audio mixer...i've been djing for 20 years...

    i looked at the audio4 DJ from NI...but i dont think it is flexible enough...but sure its a good product...

    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Alpha

    i dont like the XLRs...more friggin cables to buy...

    i want to stay low in the price range...

  2. #2
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,055

    Default

    let me ask my question...hehehe...

    i want a low priced sound card so i can cue in my headphones...and untilize the CD players and turntable...maybe time code...i feel more comfortable mixing disco, funk and old school on the CD players...i can use the m-audio and turntable for house music..i lots of vinyl i want to use...i know i could simply run the output of the laptop to the mixer i have and turn a three channel mixer into a five channel mixer...but that still wouldnt give me an overall ability to put things in cue in the headphones...

    does this make sense?

    thanks

  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    First question, do you want to use timecode and are you using Traktor.
    If the answer is yes then you have to have an Audio 4 or Audio 8 to use Traktor timecode.

    If the answer is no. Get a Presonus Firebox.

  4. #4
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,055

    Default

    not sure if i need to use timecode...i just want to have cue in the headphone off the PC to begin with...but i dont want to short change myself and have to buy something different later...

    i want to buy something cheap and flexible...

    i saw the numark DJIO...looked like something that fit my needs...but i can do better for cheaper...

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    985

    Default

    Audio 2 kicks the crap out of the DJIo, and the price difference isnt too ridic.

  6. #6
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sine143 View Post
    Audio 2 kicks the crap out of the DJIo, and the price difference isnt too ridic.
    i figured as much...native instruments > numark

    thanks for your input...what are you running with?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    985

    Default

    I use a Vci 100 and an lpd8, along with the audio 2. I also use the bcr 2000 sometimes.... but not often all with traktor pro.

    I used to jury rig my Mbox 2, but it sucked.

    The audio 2 will work as a thru for your mixer, so you can still work 2 decks externally.


    EDIT

    do you already have traktor pro?

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    sine143 is on the money. The Audio 2 kicks ass. The price is stupidly low and the sound quality is unmatched by any device twice its price.

    Im using one all the time with my VCI 100 despite having all the soundcards in my sig.
    Its just so damn small and easy to use.

    If your unsure about timecode and you have a set budget the Audio 2 is a 'no regret' purchase. You can always move up to a more expensive card when you feel the need and have the Audio 2 as back up.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    985

    Default

    the only thing I would say about the audio 2, is it might be TOO SMALL! lol. but for the price, its amazing, and you can just velcro it down.

    The real benefit is the upgrade to tpro

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Velcro ftw hahaha yeah its tiny and delicate. I take mine in a small container like this:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •