Choosing Cue Points (Organization)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Choosing Cue Points (Organization)

    Hey Everybody,
    I am starting to build my Traktor Library. I am into both DJing and controllerism (with a keyboard midi controller). One thing I find frustrating is the amount of tedious work required to beatgrid and select "hotcues" for each song. I am willing to put in the work to prepare a solid collection.

    But here is the dilemma: None of my cue points are uniform. That is I want to know that cue point #1 is always the first bass hit, the second one is the snare, 3rd is the chorus etc.

    Well I am not quite sure what the best approach to this problem is. I don't want to make my own system yet without hearing what other people like to do in terms of organizing cue points. I am still a beginner, and I would hate to find out that after setting up my whole library, there was a much better way to organize it.

    So what method do you guys choose when organizing cue points?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    You can label cue points, don't forget that. I set cuepoints when I preperpare playlists. I end up konwing what each of them dues, and then later I can look back at the wave for and remember. I don't think its in your best interest or a good idea to systemize your whole library because standardization is not how we remember stuff, uniquness is

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Gryz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    690

    Default

    Granted I just started dabbling in this, but from what I've read and seen, labeling them as just stated is the best way I've seen. I make a cue for the intro to vocals, the intro to a breakdown, buildup, and the drop - the best place I decided it would be to Xfade to another song. There are some others, but, it is up to personal preference.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    Don't let it frustrate you....

    Look at it like notes....to a GREAT set you about to play.

    It will be a one of a kind.....Cue Points = Remix City

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  5. #5
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    i generally pair up tracks and base cue points on how i want to play them, so have set pairs/routines but they become interchangeable as you build it.

    my basic method is looped based, uses 4 pads and works like this
    sequenced drums;
    1 - grid marker
    2 - load marker
    3 through to 6 - cues/loops

    live drums;
    3 through 6 - grid markers (used as hot cues)
    1 & 2 and 7 & 8 - loops saved in same position as cues 3-6, if needed

    i found that setting cues on individual drum hits doesn't work for me personally,

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Yeah always name your cue point and use familiar words.
    For ALL Load Markers i name them START for all gridmarker i use GRID (obvious).

    If its a vocal cus i use the first words of the lyric that you would hear so its easy recognised.

    Hopefully there will be improvements to the Cue Markers and Advanced Panel soon.
    Things like labels on the Cue makers as well as Numbers in the waveform.
    One click chronological ordering.
    Labels as well as numbers in the Cue list in the panel.
    And er... oh i dunno 3D and hieroglyphic support

  7. #7
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LoveBass View Post
    You can label cue points, don't forget that.

    HOLY CRAP!!! Anything else ya'll want to tell me? I guess I could get serious with the manual.

    I set a load/grid, mark where vocals start or end, and I set loops at the end or start or both depending on the song. The rest go to cue points for juggling. I'll also make little notes in the comments.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    839

    Default

    I usually just mark cues in different segments of a song. Say one where a vocal starts, one where a break down starts, one where the heavy bassline starts. Then if I find a vocal or sound I like i often save loops or cues so I can mash them up. But the whole, one cue on bass, one cue on snare thing doesnt really appeal to me when mixing.
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.
    Original Productions: https://soundcloud.com/alligator
    My Duo Productions: https://soundcloud.com/rockafellers
    Facebook Fanpage -->http://www.facebook.com/djalligator123

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor DJPhaidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    481

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    And er... oh i dunno 3D and hieroglyphic support
    That an insider tip there Karlos?

    13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Damn you Phaidon..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •