Audio headphone jack not working
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default Audio headphone jack not working

    The headphone jack on my Audio 4 quit working right today. When the headphones are plugged all the way in I only get sound on one side. If I pull the adapter out a little bit I get stereo sound. I've tried two different adapters and different headphones with the same results. Any ideas?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Does the headphone jack have a screw on 1/8 to 1/4 jack like Sennheiser headphones do?
    Mine comes every so slightly loose and i mean a nanotad loose and i lose sound in one side.
    I just tighten it and the sound comes back.

    Worth a go..!


    SORRY just re read the post and youve tried that.

    Er... Have you looked in Preferences to see if the monitor routing is still assigned to both sides.

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Uhm, yeah....I'm an idiot. Turns out there's a pan knob in Traktor. Who'da thunk? Sometimes my new Magic Mouse with it's fancy touch surface will move knobs without me knowing it guess that's what happened. I figured for sure it was hardware because I could make it work by moving the hardware.

    Thanks any way Karlos
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    LOL done it myself mate... its the simple things that get us everytime !!!

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Tech Guru pilmat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    963

    Default

    @dafe
    The wiring into TRS plugs is notorious for failing (we bend it too tight and it gets tugged on too often). Have you tried another set of phones just to make sure it is the A8DJ?

    Phil.
    MBP 10.6; Itch 2.2; Novation Twitch; TP 2.x; MF Classic; Ultrasone DJ1 Pro
    Apogee Duet 2; Reason; Ableton 8; 49SL MkII; Maschine Mikro; Launchpad

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor dafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    397

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pilmat View Post
    @dafe
    The wiring into TRS plugs is notorious for failing (we bend it too tight and it gets tugged on too often). Have you tried another set of phones just to make sure it is the A8DJ?

    Phil.
    Yeah, I initially thought it was my hd25's, as I understand they are pretty notorious for issues too. Tried a new cable, and different headphones but problem persists

    is it worthwhile cracking open the 8 and seeing if i can tinker myself a fix?

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dafe View Post

    is it worthwhile cracking open the 8 and seeing if i can tinker myself a fix?
    If you have any warranty left it goes out of the window as soon as you open it up.
    If its less than a year old you 'might' get a replacement from NI.

    If its out of warranty just take it to your local electronics repair shop.

    All depends on how good you are with a soldering iron although if its a board fault your not gonna be able to fix it yourself.

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I once played an hour set in a DJ competition with the prize being a set at Ultra in Miami with one of my pans turned all the way to the left and didn't realize it because the only booth monitor was plugged into the right channel : (
    Traktor Scratch Pro v1.2.4 Macbook Pro 2.4ghz 4gb ram - Audio 8, Torq Xponent, DJM-800

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •