New Problem with Traktor I've not seen before?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Fyoog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    697

    Default New Problem with Traktor I've not seen before?

    Now, I'm still a relative noob, only had Traktor and my VCI 100 SE for about 2 months so this may be something common with a quick fix and a name but I don't know what it is?

    I was playing on traktor and suddenly from the play line (in the middle of the wave form) the wave form just disappeared and I had no audio on deck A?

    Also I noticed when the crossfader was on deck A it wasn't sitting still and was kind of wobbling without me touching it, not much but a couple of millimetres at least on the screen?

    None of this appeared to be happening on deck B or when the crossfader was sat on the right.

    I have a MBP 15, 2.56, 4gb ram with an NI Audio 2.

    Any other info please let me know!!
    MBP, 15.4", Ableton Live 8 Suite, Novation Remote SL, Pioneer XDJ-RX, Traktor, VCI 100SE!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fyoog View Post
    I have a MBP 15, 2.56, 4gb ram with an NI Audio 2.

    Any other info please let me know!!
    get a pc!

    *ducks*

    i seen this on the x-fade recently to, think it could just be a vibration thing? as for the waveform/audio disappearance, did you accidentally unload the deck?

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BradCee View Post
    get a pc!
    Damn, beat me to it!!

    I'll sometimes have to wait for the waveform as Traktor is analyzing a new track, but I've never had it happen while a track is playing. What's yoru crossfader curve set at?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Fyoog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    697

    Default

    No deck unloading accidentally, it was while playing, mainly after I was hitting cue points. It would jump to one cue point and then the audio would just peter out?
    X fader is set full curve as it's mainly edm for me.

    I have noticed on the DJTT VCI support threads in the other people who bought theirs at the same time as mine (one post bought his in Dec 09, mine from Jan 10) reported similar wobbles, they just sent him a new X fader. Wondering if general fault, not sure if the audio failing is linked though?
    MBP, 15.4", Ableton Live 8 Suite, Novation Remote SL, Pioneer XDJ-RX, Traktor, VCI 100SE!

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You may have some dust or something in your cross fader causing the wobbling issue, but I don't think that would mess the wave form up though. There's talk of cleaning the fader with alcohol in a thread somewhere in the support forum.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Are you using AAC files ? Any iTunes downloads?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Fyoog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    697

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    Are you using AAC files ? Any iTunes downloads?
    Actually yeah they are, is this a problem?
    MBP, 15.4", Ableton Live 8 Suite, Novation Remote SL, Pioneer XDJ-RX, Traktor, VCI 100SE!

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor The Vly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    186

    Default

    I get the same problem sometimes with iTunes .mp4 files. Especially if I've just messed around with the Freeze effect in "Delay". Waveform just disappears and no more sound.
    I converted all my iTunes files to MP3s and have not had the problem since.
    "Listening to Techno without bass is like trying to get yourself off without using your hands."
    My music blog: www.thevlyhouse.com

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Bingo ..!

    The famous aac file bug.
    This affects pretty much everyone using aac files and it's totally random.
    There are quite a few threads on thi matter on here and at NI forums.

    Currently the only fix is to reload the track.
    Or convert it to mp3.

    NI are fully aware of this issue cus I and loads of other DJTT members have sent NI videos and files.

    Just waiting on a fix but it I'll admit it's a long time coming.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Fyoog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    697

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Vly View Post
    I get the same problem sometimes with iTunes .mp4 files. Especially if I've just messed around with the Freeze effect in "Delay". Waveform just disappears and no more sound.
    I converted all my iTunes files to MP3s and have not had the problem since.
    Awesome, cheers for the reply. I'll give it a try and let you know.

    Now just the X fader to sort out!!!

    Has anyone else had a problem like mine? Bearing mind the VCI is only 5 months old and has been kept in a case so doubt it has got too dirty/ dusty.
    MBP, 15.4", Ableton Live 8 Suite, Novation Remote SL, Pioneer XDJ-RX, Traktor, VCI 100SE!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •