Do I need surge protection for a Laptop Power Supply?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    256

    Default Do I need surge protection for a Laptop Power Supply?

    Do I need surge protection for a Laptop Power Supply?

    My setup is only powered by a laptop

    so i thought I'd get surge protection, rather than getting an extension lead i thought I'd get a surge plug to fit o my laptop power lead



    http://tinyurl.com/3yrs5r9

    saving space in the Equipment bag

    I can wire a plug

    Is this a good idea, do i need surge protection on a laptop PSU?

    I checked my laptop PSU and its a 5 amp fuse, surge protectors are 13amp is that too much?
    Last edited by RD444; 06-14-2010 at 07:47 PM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Your power supply should act as a surge protector. IE, it will blow out, not the laptop. This is also true if you forgot momentarily what country you're in and plug it into a socket w/ the wrong voltage.

    However, the power supplies can get costly themselves, as they are almost always some bullshit proprietary connection. The Mac ones, for example, are in the $100 range. I've seen PC ones closer to $200.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    256

    Default

    yeah i know what your saying a bout power supply costs

    I helped my friend get on e for her Sony laptop. I was like 120 in the shop. I asked the guy if he sold many

    I got an official one online for 35 . which was still a bit steep

    So can i wire a 13amp fuse plug onto a Power wire, mines a mickey mouse plug shape. (I'll buy a spare lead)

    does it matter that the original plug is 5amp fuse?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    does it matter that the original plug is 5amp fuse?
    Now you're getting a bit out of my area of expertise. :|

  5. #5

    Default

    I have pretty much the same set up. Mac, Vestax VCI-100 and An Akai Mpk 49. Should i get a surge protector or will my macs power supply act as one?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,480

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RD444 View Post
    So can i wire a 13amp fuse plug onto a Power wire, mines a mickey mouse plug shape. (I'll buy a spare lead)

    does it matter that the original plug is 5amp fuse?
    Yes it matters :eek:
    SC | MC

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    256

    Default

    I got a belkin laptop surge that attaches to the power cable. I'll post a picture later

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Tigris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    241

    Default

    Laptop-powered setups are quite save, when something comes down the line that's too much for your PSU then even a surge-protection would save you. For External mixers and stuff, it's a different story. Same with external powered USB-Hubs etc... I got a powerstrip with surge-protection from APC, never needed mine until now *knock-on-wood*
    I mix stuff on my things...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •