SOS! Help with Managing a Club Owner
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default SOS! Help with Managing a Club Owner

I spin at the same bar every Friday night. I got the gig because I bartended there every weekend, and last year, they had a DJ crap out last minute- I filled in, and the rest was history.

A lot of people around town have noticed me and have inquired about a lot of different events. The first one I took up on the offer was a local band that was putting together a massive show on a Friday night at another place in town, and they wanted a DJ to keep the party going when their set was over.

I took the night off from my normal spot, and flyers hit the streets a few days later. Almost immediately, the owner of my spot phoned me up in a foul mood. He went on to tell me (very nastily) that it was unacceptable for me to request a night away from his club and use my name to promote a show at one of his competitors.

As an artist, I don't think he has any right to tell me that I can't play other venues, advertise my shows, etc (unless, of course, I'm under contract), but my ties to his bar complicate things quite a bit.

In my defense, I don't even care about the other bar... I just want the BAND to have a good turnout and get myself some outside exposure so I can have more regulars at my normal spot, which would ultimately benefit the owner that's so pissed off about it.

He doesn't see it that way, though. He only sees a major instance of disloyalty, and he doesn't take disloyalty very well. I actually fear my job with him- it's the only worthwhile place in town to spin at, and I make bank on the nights I still bartend there...

What can I tell him to help him understand? Suggestions?
    Trump

Trance is:"By far the best form of music that exists. A recent study showed that if a population is divided into musical preference, those who claim a strong allegiance to trance have the highest average IQ. Trance is the music of the genius-generation."

Tech Guru