Using VCI100 SE as midi mixer
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default Using VCI100 SE as midi mixer

    What do you guys think? I know there are a couple of people doing it with the VCI100 and some other controllers, so how does it work? Does it work well?

    The time to buy my gear is drawing near and I've gained a ton of knowledge since I joined almost 2 months ago now. What I'm thinking of doing is the following:

    2 Tech TT's, Kontrol X1, Vestax PMC05 Pro III, Traktor Scratch Duo

    Or

    2 Tech TT's, VCI100 SE, Traktor Scratch Duo

    I kind of thought that the VCI could take the place of the Kontrol X1+Vestax and allow me to be more mobile when I needed to be.

    What do you guys think? Is it a good blend or just a bad idea...discuss...
    A little bit of gold and a pager.

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I think you'll get a better scratch performance from the PMC05 especially with the mods you can do to it, but you can definitely make the VCI work. Someone had a PMC05 for sale for $100 on djforums I think.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    Yeah...the only real reason I want an external mixer at the moment is for the C and D deck and the X Fader.

    I will need to either mod the VCI's X Fader for sharper cuts or get an external.

    I am thinking of getting Dicers now for my TT's. Then I can control their Cue Points at least...and then mod the mapping to use the pitch faders as volume for C and D.

    Makes your brain itch.....with all these possibilities!

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Lunchbox - I basically use the second setup option you've pointed out (but with TSP rather than TSD)

    Works for me
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherlock Ohms View Post
    Lunchbox - I basically use the second setup option you've pointed out (but with TSP rather than TSD)

    Works for me
    I'm sure I'll end up at TSP at some point, but figure I'll start on TSD and not overwhelm myself with 4 decks right out of the gate. That is part of what I like about that option though, it seems very modular and expandable.
    A little bit of gold and a pager.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    yeah....the VCI will be your mixer and X1 ...all in one.
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    Yeah...the only real reason I want an external mixer at the moment is for the C and D deck and the X Fader.

    I will need to either mod the VCI's X Fader for sharper cuts or get an external.

    I am thinking of getting Dicers now for my TT's. Then I can control their Cue Points at least...and then mod the mapping to use the pitch faders as volume for C and D.

    Makes your brain itch.....with all these possibilities!

    There is a guy on the mod forum who is working on a Midi Fighter with a cross fader and 2 vertical faders. That could be a great way to control the other 2 decks.
    A little bit of gold and a pager.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    indeed!



    However, I would like it all to be on one device.
    For my work flow and sanity.....

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    indeed!



    However, I would like it all to be on one device.
    For my work flow and sanity.....

    I get that. You don't think you would need the pitch faders on your VCI?
    A little bit of gold and a pager.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    Nope.

    I use Sync Lock.....for all the genre's i play (which is like....3 or 4).

    So I never touch them. I Sync...and adjust my grid ...if needed on the fly.

    Usually i do that at home.
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •