Bug(?): sometimes it "misses" a press? (OSX)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    38

    Default Bug(?): sometimes it "misses" a press? (OSX)

    Hi good people,

    I just took receipt of my Midi Fighter and it's fantastic.

    But, I was wondering about one thing: has anyone ever noticed that sometimes the first keypress in awhile doesn't register?

    In other words, if you set the thing up and are playing it for awhile then you let it sit -- then trigger it again, sometimes the LED triggers, but no MIDI event happens until second press.

    Am I imagining this? Has anyone else noticed it? I'm not opposed to digging in the code myself but wanted to check first.

    Thanks,
    rs

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I used the MF on a gig last night. It definitely is "going to sleep" and "missing" the first press on my setup.

    I've got a Macbook running 10.5.8. I'll do some testing to determine if it's the computer, Serato (this seems doubtful), or the MF.

    rs

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor No Left Turn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    434

    Default

    Is there another controller that you're using along with the MF? I haven't tried this in a while, but I do recall that if I'm using the same effects on 2 controllers (in my case the MF and VCI) that there's the "missed press" when using the second controller to trigger the same effect.
    MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Core i7 :: Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.10.5
    Traktor Pro 2.9 :: Launchpad :: MIDI Fighter Pro Beatmasher/3D

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. It's only the Serato box and the MF plugged in. There are no extraneous MIDI assignments in Serato either.

    rs

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    As far as I can tell, Midi Fighter is above reproach here.

    It looks like Serato is using some kind of MIDI "debouncing" where if there's not a certain duration between a Note On and Note Off, it's ignoring the message.

    I'll look into ways of getting around this. Other Serato users are bound to discover the same thing eventually.

    rs

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor No Left Turn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    434

    Default

    Is there another controller you can test that "debouncing" with? If you have a pad controller of any kind, you can use it with the MIDI Fighter mapping.
    MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Core i7 :: Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.10.5
    Traktor Pro 2.9 :: Launchpad :: MIDI Fighter Pro Beatmasher/3D

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I tested and replicated it with a pure MIDI message sent from PD. 50ms it registers, 49ms it does not:
    http://www.saravanbuskirk.com/pics/miditest.png

    I've moved beyond Rane support and have moved on to Serato in New Zealand. Will definitely keep the thread up-to-date.
    rs

  8. #8
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,688

    Default

    definitely sounds like Serato as I have never seen this behavior in Traktor.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Given the exactness of the threshold, I suspect the behavior is by design, to filter out accidental presses.

    rs

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    160

    Default

    Dare I say 1:nil to Traktor? : )

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •