Audio 4 vs audio 8 vs timecode
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default Audio 4 vs audio 8 vs timecode

    Ok in the market for a new sound card.and would like to use timecode at some point.

    so just a few Q's about the audio 4 & 8

    with the audio 4 i am guessing you can only have 2 timecode
    and with the 8 u can have 4 decks

    My other Q is that if i got the audio 4 and did want to use 4 decks could i use 2 timecode decks and 2 decks controlled by midi controllers?

    that is all cheers

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Str8upDrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    All of that can be accomplished, but it's easier just to get an audio 8. With the 4 you would have to mix internally, with the 8 you have the option to mix analog or internally.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Glen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    296

    Default

    I use the audio 4 to mix internaly and then you could do two deck time code,
    I think you could also do 40 with each of the 4 out puts, but they would all be mono
    Check out my...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/glenboarder99
    http://soundcloud.com/glenboarder99
    Quote Originally Posted by sarasin View Post
    Then you are golden....like Ean Golden.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor PartyMcFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    455

    Default

    Another question related to Chasso's questions,

    Is the A4 any lighter than the A8? Significantly enough to notice a difference in your gig bag? The A8 weights about as much as a concrete brick of similar size.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PartyMcFly View Post
    Another question related to Chasso's questions,

    Is the A4 any lighter than the A8? Significantly enough to notice a difference in your gig bag? The A8 weights about as much as a concrete brick of similar size.
    Per NI's site:

    Audio 4 Weight: 1.1lb (511 grams)

    Audio 8 Weight: 1.8lb (825 grams)

    So noticably lighter if u have it in ur hand, i dont know about in a gig bag though
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PartyMcFly View Post
    Another question related to Chasso's questions,

    Is the A4 any lighter than the A8? Significantly enough to notice a difference in your gig bag? The A8 weights about as much as a concrete brick of similar size.
    I don't want to go OT, but DJ's complain a lot about how much stuff weighs...and the stuff doesn't weigh anything!
    Last edited by Rokku; 08-20-2010 at 07:55 AM. Reason: Spelling correction
    A little bit of gold and a pager.

  7. #7
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lunchbox4u_6 View Post
    I don't want to go OT, but DJ's complain a lot about how much stuff weighs...and the stuff doesn't weigh anything!
    LOL respect to that...

    I caught myself crying about how heavy my VCI 100 Backpack was last week.
    Then i remembered the weight of just one of these, and i used to carry 2 plus 2 courier bags and a CD case minimum:


    STOP CRYING YOU BIG GIRLS.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Str8upDrew View Post
    All of that can be accomplished, but it's easier just to get an audio 8. With the 4 you would have to mix internally, with the 8 you have the option to mix analog or internally.
    So if i get an audi 4 my physical mixer is useless?
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Rokku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    LOL respect to that...

    I caught myself crying about how heavy my VCI 100 Backpack was last week.
    Then i remembered the weight of just one of these, and i used to carry 2 plus 2 courier bags and a CD case minimum:


    STOP CRYING YOU BIG GIRLS.
    It's all relative, and I get that. It's just funny because to play a full show as a bass player I'll take 2 basses at a combined weight of about 12lbs (that includes the cases they are in) 2 1x12 cabs at 50lbs each and my amp head in it's case at about 30lbs. That's lighter then the last rig I had which tipped the scales at almost 200lbs!
    A little bit of gold and a pager.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Str8upDrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoodless View Post
    So if i get an audi 4 my physical mixer is useless?
    No, it will still work fine for 2 deck analog(physical) mixing.
    The thing is, it only has 2 sets of outs, so you can only mix 2 decks with it and an analog mixer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •