Sound Drops Out For A Split Second
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default Sound Drops Out For A Split Second

    I am running Traktor Pro on my Hewlett Packard laptop running Windows 7 x64 Professional with a Vestax VCI 100 & the Native Instruments audio 8. I am coming out of channel A on the Audio 8 and into my amp The laptop has a 3 gig processor and 4 gig of ram.

    So I am practising my Techno set and recording it within Traktor and on 3 separate occasions now I have experienced the sound dying for a split second and then coming back on.

    Is this a latency problem? I have the preferences set to fast cpu and it has still done it. It did it when it was set to slow also.

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    What's your latency set at?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Latency is set to 5.5ms.

  4. #4
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    If your not scratching 10+works fine.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If your not scratching 10+works fine.
    Okay thanks. Do you think 5.5 ms is too low?

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I'm not sure if that's your issue or not, but 5.5 is pretty low. It's an easy change to see if that might be the problem and worth a try. I run mine at 10.5 ms
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Okay I will run the set again later and let you know how it goes. Thanks for your help photojojo.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor The Progen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steverido View Post
    Okay thanks. Do you think 5.5 ms is too low?
    5.5ms is the default. Check your wireless networking. Is the adaptor on? Turn it off if it is. That's usually the main culprit of dropouts and dropouts are a freakin' no no. Makes you look bloody stupid and the haters will say, 'We told him not to use DVS!'.
    Know thy music ...

  9. #9
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Progen View Post
    5.5ms is the default. Check your wireless networking. Is the adaptor on? Turn it off if it is. That's usually the main culprit of dropouts and dropouts are a freakin' no no. Makes you look bloody stupid and the haters will say, 'We told him not to use DVS!'.
    Mine will set itself at 30ms every time if I don't change it. Turning off WiFi and bluetooth is a good idea.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor The Progen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Ooops, forgot to mention Bluetooth because I don't even bother installing the drivers since I'd rather plug the SD or microSD cards directly into my notebooks if I need to transfer stuff to my phones.

    Wonder what affects the default settings. Geography? I've installed Traktor Scratch / Scratch Pro and Pro on at least 7 to 8 systems. All defaulted to 5.5ms and we're talking about systems with different hardware configurations.
    Know thy music ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •