serial-serial cable question
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    54

    Default serial-serial cable question

    I want to upgrade my vci-100 by using the firmware kit. I have a serial to serial cable at home. But I can't find any serial cable in the back of my PC. How can I upgrade it?

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You'll have to get a USB to serial cable or find a computer that does have a serial connection.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    54

    Default

    but a lot of people said that usb-serial causes problems.

  4. #4
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Sometimes they do, but you really have no other options.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    54

    Default

    OK. Thanks. Is there no serial cable on new-released PC?

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You could probably find one, but I wouldn't buy a new computer to do the upgrade. I used a Mac running Windows XP and a USB to serial cable and got the update done. So even with all of those things working against me it's still possible.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •