OT; Sonic Adventure on Xbox/PS3
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default OT; Sonic Adventure on Xbox/PS3

    undecided if i want to get this, still have my dreamcast, but my Sonic adv games went missing ages ago.

    to get the game + dx upgrade is 1200 points, which means dropping 17(ish) on 2000 points, however i have seen both Sonic adv 1 and 2 (dreamcast versions) on ebay for 16 inc postage...

    although then i have another 800 points to play with....

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BradCee View Post
    undecided if i want to get this, still have my dreamcast, but my Sonic adv games went missing ages ago.

    to get the game + dx upgrade is 1200 points, which means dropping 17(ish) on 2000 points, however i have seen both Sonic adv 1 and 2 (dreamcast versions) on ebay for 16 inc postage...

    although then i have another 800 points to play with....
    Best thing i have read on a forum today.

    Ill bring my Sega Mega System to BPM mate and we can rig it up to one of the NI big screens and play Sonic.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    Best thing i have read on a forum today.

    Ill bring my Sega Mega System to BPM mate and we can rig it up to one of the NI big screens and play Sonic.
    sweet idea...

    looking at graphics on xbox version the 17 would be worth it, especially as the upgrade adds 60 missions and metal sonic. but i really wanna carry a chao round in my pocket again

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  4. #4
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    Best thing i have read on a forum today.

    Ill bring my Sega Mega System to BPM mate and we can rig it up to one of the NI big screens and play Sonic.
    Ill go to BPM just for this! SMS is the sh!t...i still have mine. Outrun/Shinobi/DoubleDragron FTW!
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  5. #5
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    opted to get xbox version, can't resist a: the graphics and b: i can play it in about 10 mins time

    left the upgrade for now, get that once i've completed normal game, or next friday which ever comes second.
    also have a plan for left over points... Sonic 4....

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesC View Post
    Ill go to BPM just for this! SMS is the sh!t...i still have mine. Outrun/Shinobi/DoubleDragron FTW!
    Arnold Palmer Golf... Best score was 21 under par for an 18 hole round, i loved it.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    was all about streets of rage imo...

    also, first thoughts on sonic for xbox... why the hell have they not set it into widescreen format? just a straight port with tidied up visuals.

    still, 11 years since i played this, feel like a kid again. (maybe because i was 14...)

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  8. #8
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    i retract my widescreen moan, once things get going you don't notice

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  9. #9
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    From what I've read this port is shit and Sega should be slapped in the cock for it...mainly for reasons you've mentioned. Is the crappy frame rate from the Dreamcast version still there?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    framerate feels smoother, and some of the glitches like on the mouths of the character models and arms passing through bodies don't seem to be present.

    tbh, it's more the dlc and 'can play now' aspects that swayed from getting the originals from ebay. will still get them eventually

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •