VCI-100: Knob issue (Gain/Filter)
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Default VCI-100: Knob issue (Gain/Filter)

    Hey guys,

    I'm using a VCI-100SE for quite a while now and I'm really happy with it.
    However, I noticed a kind of odd behavior with the Gain/Filter knobs assigned to deck A/C, B/D are ok.
    When I try to increase or reduce the Gain, nothing happens. In the Traktor GUI, the knob just stays at the same position, but when I play with the Filter knob, it's always adjusting Gain and Filter at the same time.

    Any idea about what's causing this behavior? Im using FW 1.3 and the latest mappings.

    Cheers,

    Manuel

  2. #2
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    I take it your VCI has at least firmware 1.3 since you say it's an SE? Are you using the DJTT mapping?
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Correct, it's running with firmware 1.3 and I'm using DJTT mappings (I'll check the version of the .tsi file after work).

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Is it a new problem that has emerged after normal usage or have you only just loaded the mapping for the first time? Try loading the .tsi twice then closing and opening traktor twice. I have no idea why this works but it does seem to iron out random glitches!

    Edit: I'd also suggest you upgrade to FW 1.4 and use the new mapping if possible, there are noticeable improvements and it's likely this would fix your problem!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Try reloading the tsi a couple of times like fullenglishpint said.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Ok guys,

    I've recognized this problem after using the VCI for about 2-3 weeks when I received it in May this year and I think it was already there by the first time I used it. However, I was not really bothered, but I felt like I should ask here because someone else may already stumbled across this issue.

    I followed your instructions and reloaded the latest .tsi file a couple of times (reloading the tsi twice and restarting traktor twice), unfortunately the problem still persists. About upgrading to FW 1.4, I'll try to get a firmware upgrade kit, but since I'm from Switzerland it's going to take a while..

  7. #7
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    I live in the UK and ordered one, it got here in about a week so should be about the same to you.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard ricoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Same problem here. Gain filter knob just does... nothing. Feels random to me. Can't see a real pattern in this thing.
    Sometimes i just start twisting that thing like a mad man and all of a sudden it just starts working.

  9. #9
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ricoot View Post
    Same problem here. Gain filter knob just does... nothing. Feels random to me. Can't see a real pattern in this thing.
    Sometimes i just start twisting that thing like a mad man and all of a sudden it just starts working.
    Are you talking about the gain knob or the shift+filter knob to adjust the key? The problem your describing sounds like the latter.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •