Replacing LEDs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Replacing LEDs

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26

    Default Replacing LEDs

    DJTT Please Please Please could you reverse engineer a few of the most common controllers (vci-100 etc) and give us a comprehensive guide on changing leds?
    Id love to know exactly what the technical specification is for the current leds and whether i can change them to brighter ones with a different resistor etc.
    The current info on the forums is flaky and while people specify sizes, most people are buying their leds blindly from ebay.
    Some farnell part numbers wouldnt go a miss

    I really want to be changing my leds when i install my arcade buttons, firmware chip (yes i'm installing it inside the box for good) and modify my jogwheels.
    Ideally I don't want to go back inside my vci again unless something stops working.

    Cheers guys, and please help!

    Timmy.

  2. #2
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimmyWoo View Post
    firmware chip (yes i'm installing it inside the box for good)
    There isn't space inside the VCI for the firmware chip to be there permanently, you have to remove a cable harness just to plug it in.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    There isn't space inside the VCI for the firmware chip to be there permanently, you have to remove a cable harness just to plug it in.
    That's if your using the cable harness
    I'm soldering it direct from board to board with a switch and serial socket out of the back panel. With all connectors removed, its just a thin little pcb that will happily sit on top of the other pcbs.

    see this thread http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...178#post167178
    Last edited by TimmyWoo; 10-11-2010 at 04:08 AM.

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimmyWoo View Post
    That's if your using the cable harness
    I'm soldering it direct from board to board with a switch and serial socket out of the back panel. With all connectors removed, its just a thin little pcb that will happily sit on top of the other pcbs.
    That's all very well, but is it worth the effort? I mean, I've done 2 FW upgrades and the second one took me about 10 minutes. it's only 8 screws to get full access. But hell, if that's what you want to do, go for it!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    That's all very well, but is it worth the effort? I mean, I've done 2 FW upgrades and the second one took me about 10 minutes. it's only 8 screws to get full access. But hell, if that's what you want to do, go for it!
    Once i have an idea in my head, im pretty much unstoppable lol

  6. #6
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimmyWoo View Post
    Once i have an idea in my head, im pretty much unstoppable lol
    Fair enough, I hope you're good at soldering then! Good luck!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    I hope you're good at soldering then!
    I've done it for a living for the past 7 years. Mostly life critical medical electronics... So yeah, i'm not bad :P
    and thanks!

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimmyWoo View Post
    Mostly life critical medical electronics...
    ...I hope you really are good then!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I've not killed anyone yet lol
    But yeah I solder components worth many times more an entire vci-100 on a day to day basis. I specialise in through-hole PCB's and cable harnesses.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,180

    Default

    make sure to take many photos of this project.. seems interesting
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •