audio 4+2 =audio8 ???
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor djAB3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Slovenia, EU
    Posts
    192

    Default audio 4+2 =audio8 ???

    is there any possibilty to use audio 4 and 2 as audio 8 dj? to have 4 channel external mixer running in traktor

    only because i dont want to spend anoher 380€ for soundcard and i already own audio 4



    thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    Yes, on a mac you can create what is known as an aggrigate device or something along those lines - basically makes you able to create one "phony" soundcard from as many soundcards as you want. The punchline to this is that you can choose the aggrigated device in traktor as if it was a normal soundcard.

  3. #3
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    Are you trying to use DVS with it or just run 4 decks? just keep in mind that you will have 6 outs and 4 ins
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Posts
    1,296

    Default

    Do you care about doing external mono?
    I think you have 4 mono outs on the audio 4, you can use 4 external channels in mono for 4 decks mixing until you dont decide your new/aggregate soundcard

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesC View Post
    Are you trying to use DVS with it or just run 4 decks? just keep in mind that you will have 6 outs and 4 ins
    i think an audio4 plus an audio2 will give you 8 outs and 4 ins. (4 pairs of outs, 2 pairs of ins)

    dont forget to factor in that you will now need 2 usb slots, which could be a problem if your on a newer macbook. and its not recommended that a soundcard be run off a hub (although i have seen it done with no problems)

    but theoretically, it can work.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by V-Hoff View Post
    Do you care about doing external mono?
    I think you have 4 mono outs on the audio 4, you can use 4 external channels in mono for 4 decks mixing until you dont decide your new/aggregate soundcard
    That's exactly what I was thinking with my audio 4. Many clubs use mono configurations so no big deal. probably none of the audience will be able to tell.

  7. #7
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    shoulda thought about this when you got the audio 4 huh
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  8. #8
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ View Post
    shoulda thought about this when you got the audio 4 huh
    i have a audio 8 and a audio 2, should i combine powers and make a Audio12?
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,330

    Default

    Let our powers combine!
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesC View Post
    i have a audio 8 and a audio 2, should i combine powers and make a Audio12?
    By the power of duct tape I combine thee!!
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •