Wire for arcade mod.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    144

    Default Wire for arcade mod.

    Hey all,

    wandering what kind of wire I should be using for the arcade mod and exactly how to attach the wire to the diode and then to the button.

    Thanks,

    J.V.

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard ricoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I used AWG20 wire and 1N4148 diodes.
    Make sure the black band/stripeon the diode is facing toward the buttons.
    How to attach? soldering is the way to go.

    I was really nervous when i did it, the soldering. but it was done in like 10 minutes!

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    If you've never soldered watch a few youtube tutorial videos and practice with spare wire. 20 gauge wire should do fine.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    144

    Default

    The soldering isn't hard. Haven't done it before, but its not too intimidating.

    Picked up some 20 gauge.

    Now I need the order of which things are going. Ground - Wire - Diode. Just looking for something along those lines.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard ricoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    87

    Default

    that's it.
    ground - wire - diode - button.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Figured It out last night and finished up the mod.

    Its looking and feeling good. No problems so far =D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •