DJ on a budget the series
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default DJ on a budget the series

Well after nearly 30 years since I last played a set I thought I'd come out of retirement (LOL). Back in those days I started playing reggea and soul parties then progressed to jungle and soulful house. Anyway I had most of my collection transfered from vinyl to digital although a hard drive crash caused a major prblem but enough was saved. So getting bored at weekends I thought about returning back to the decks so began looking at cost of starting back up especially after playing at my friends wedding and everyone boosting my ego.
    I began by trawling the web for advise and review and found myself here, great source especially with the youtube videos. I finally opted for the VCI-100 which after many a bidding war on ebay I got a used one for £220, a couple of sounds card which came to a total £70 and Tracktor Pro cost me £100. headphones £25.00. Oh the joys of ebay. So £415 a few years of collecting music got me back on the road. My music of choice is House but it seems after passing the word around that I'm back I'm getting called to play reggea. One night has passed which was a free play to help a friend but form that I now have my first paid booking.
    My budget is small but I have to update my collection of house beats bit by bit so in the mean time I'll take any booking going. A couple of friends have talked about promotion night so I'll keep you updated on my trials and tribulations, and on my successes.
    By the way if anyone in the Yorkshire or the Midlands wants a opening DJ let me know

Tech Guru

Blogs are your friend when updating your music collection. You can also look into some DJ pools that charge 20-40 bucks per month and spend an entire month downloading past releases then cancel your membership. You can catch up some tracks this way too without having to spend too much cash
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300