VCI 100 + Audio Kontrol 1

Default VCI 100 + Audio Kontrol 1

Hi,

About a month ago i ordered a VCI 300 on back order. That seems to be an on going story, and delays just keep on comming. To be honest, im starting to wonder wether £600 is a great price for such a long delay and no effects area/few features in ITCH.

I am considering cancelling the order and opting for a VCI 100 and an external USB soundcard.

I have seen the NI Audio kontrol 1,
    http://http://www.native-instruments...x.php?id=ak1dj
    this seems to have additional midi input.
    Would the midi input from the audio kontrol clash with the midi input from the vci, if i wanted to ... say, use the audio kontrol as an external effects cortroler? (mapped to control effects by its large rotary dial etc).

Also as i am new to the world of DJ'ing, i am a little confused by the outputs.

The audio kontrol 1 has 2 sets of stereo outputs... ok i get that, i would only use 1 set yes?
    Also these outputs are TRS outputs. Now when i ordered my VCI 300, i ordered a set of RCA cables. I am struggling to find a converter from RCA to TRS. To be quite frank, i dont even know what a TRS connector looks like.

Also on the front of the audio kontrol there is a headphone jack. It seems substantialy larger than a 3.5mm headphone jack for say a standard pair of headphones, (i have a set of wireless sennheisers that i would wish to monitor with).

What is that input? As i need to find an adaptor to convert 3.5mm to (whatever it is).

Also does anyone have any views on the audio kontrol 1? Do they find the added midi functionality usefull? Or is that just a gimmic?

Any other suggestions for sound cards would be ok, but i do like the idea of the added midi functionality and full monitor volume control etc.

Thank you very much in advance. ( I would be totaly stuck without this place)

Cheers,
    Phil

I have both the vci-100 & the ak1 & am very happy with the setup