Gear decision...
    Tech Convert

Default Gear decision...

So I'm faced with a tough decision here.
    I'm brand new to DJing and I have the option of going with the S4, or two CDJ1000s and a DJM800. I understand that the two setups are totally different beasts, but I'm wondering what will be the best for me? I'm 100% on wanting to get into DJing, I've wanted to for a long time and I finally decided to just go for it, so I don't mind the extra cost of the CDJ setup. I'm just not sure what will be more beneficial to my learning. I guess most places will have the CDJ setup so it'd be nice to just start my learning on that...at the same time, the S4 seems like it would be much easier to start on.

Help, anyone?

I'd go with the S4. When I first started DJing I didn't have enough money for a pair of 1200's so I went with an all-in-one midi controller. Never even thought of getting turntables or CDJ's after that. I can do everything (and more) with my midi controller!
    The enemy's gate is DOWN.

MacBook Pro | 2.16 Ghz C2D | 120 GB HDD | 3 GB RAM | 250 GB EX HDD
    Mac Pro | 2x2.88 Ghz Quad-Core | 320 GB HDD | 6 GB RAM | 1 TB EX HDD
    Ableton Suite | Akai APC 80 | Torq Xponent

Honestly what it comes down to what you want to do with the equipment.

If you want to have the ability to use your setup without the use of your computer, the CDJ version is probably the way to go. Most clubs will have a similar (if not the same) setup.

I'm not sure about going with the DJM800, but that's just me. Personally I feel there are other mixers that are more effective in what they do.

Another thing would be being locked into using Traktor with the S4. It might be for you, it might not be. Serato Scratch Live is another amazing DVS program that isn't worth glossing over.