How are you transitioning Top 40?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Gryz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    690

    Default How are you transitioning Top 40?

    I am not a top 40 fan, but realize I will sooner or later have to play it.

    As it stands, I am doing my own thing where I layer some Top 40 over an EDM track, trance, progressive house, whatever, and do so by mixing them in key. This makes for an interesting sound, and something no one else has heard, and also give me the ability to bring in the new dance track by using the previous trance or house tracks normal 4-4 beat and mixes in very nicely.

    With Top 40 ranging in BPM from 90 to 120 or whatever, and a varied melodic beat, how are you transitioning between two T40 songs? A quick switch of the crossfader? That would just sound to abrupt to me....
    CDJ400s, Ecler Nuo, XD 53
    KRK RP8sFG


  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    839

    Default

    Find some top 40 remixes if your like me and like to jump between house and top 40 often. Also, just keep the transitions short and pay attention to the phrasing of the lyrics while mixing out a top 40 song. You could also do a backspin to jump from varied BPM's or use the echo freeze trick in traktor.
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.
    Original Productions: https://soundcloud.com/alligator
    My Duo Productions: https://soundcloud.com/rockafellers
    Facebook Fanpage -->http://www.facebook.com/djalligator123

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor djsakebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    243

    Default

    I usually do what both OP and Abyrne7 do.
    The enemy's gate is DOWN.

    MacBook Pro | 2.16 Ghz C2D | 120 GB HDD | 3 GB RAM | 250 GB EX HDD
    Mac Pro | 2x2.88 Ghz Quad-Core | 320 GB HDD | 6 GB RAM | 1 TB EX HDD
    Ableton Suite | Akai APC 80 | Torq Xponent

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Abyrne7 View Post
    just keep the transitions short and pay attention to the phrasing of the lyrics while mixing out a top 40 song
    This times 100.

    Top 40 and Hip Hop is not "mixed" like house song with long transitions. I usually tranistion between hip hop songs on 8 beats, sometimes four and it's all about the phrasing of lyrics to keep the vibe going. Count the beats man.

    Check out youtube for some vids of Craze and others.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    I agree with Abyrne, if all else fails echo freeze is your friend.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Guru jakeintox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    816

    Default

    Agree with all above. Go for short transitions and don't worry too much. If your crowd wants to hear top 40 they probably won't care how it's mixed as long as they get the songs they heard in the car on the way to the club. Many top 40 tracks have intros with no beat, I use those tracks to jump between bpms.

    Intoxicated /adj./ When you feel sophisticated without being able to pronounce it.

    facebook.com/DJJakeLake
    jakelake.info

  7. #7
    Tech Guru completej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    827

    Default

    you can also get the hook or chorus of a top 40 ~90bpm, loop, increase in bpm ~125+, bring in your EDM of whatever flavor, then slowly filter / drop vol on top 40, and slowly work your way out of the top 40 corner you were previously backed into. :P
    [ 17" 2010 MBP ][ Mixcloud ][ CompleteJ ][ Soundcloud ][ Traktor Kontrol S4 ]

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    a 90bpm vocal sped up to 125? crikey, that would sound crazy!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  9. #9
    Tech Guru completej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    a 90bpm vocal sped up to 125? crikey, that would sound crazy!
    CDJ-400 has this wonderful button Pitch Lock on it. Quite an advantage.
    [ 17" 2010 MBP ][ Mixcloud ][ CompleteJ ][ Soundcloud ][ Traktor Kontrol S4 ]

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    336

    Default

    find phrases without any definable beat, like a pad sweep or something and then loop it and bring in the new track over that (this usually only works if you're going from top 40 to EDM) otherwise an echo freeze (as mentioned), a smash cut (just wham the crossfader across at the right moment, if the two tracks have the same key this can often work), wait for one song to end and then start the next one straight away (defeats the purpose of djing but is a handy last resort)
    Mixes and Productions on Soundcloud

    VCI-100 SE - DJ I/O - MacBook Pro 13" - TMA-1 Headphones

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •