Question About MacBook
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,480

    Default Question About MacBook

    Hi I've got the chance to buy a cheap used MacBook Pro but I've always had Windows and don't know much about them.

    What I wanna know is will it run my S4 ok - not gonna be used for anything else.

    15" 2.16GHz Core 2 Duo, 120GB HD, 1GB RAM

    Obviously I'll need to stick some more RAM in but would the processor be up to the job? Seems pretty ancient compared to what I've got in my current PC ...
    SC | MC

  2. #2
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    It's enough I don't see any problems
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,155

    Default

    Yeah, that processor will be more than enough. Like you said, it'll need more RAM and depending on the size of your music collection, you may need to upgrade your HDD too.

    If you're unsure about using Mac as a primary operating system, you can always dual boot it with more or less any Windows version...

    http://thegadgets.net/trickt-boy/tip...ows-7-on-a-pc/
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,480

    Default

    One more question - he say's he's just formatted it and it's got OS X Tiger on, but if I want he'll put Leopard on for me.

    Which should I go for - remember all I want is to use it for dj'ing with my S4.
    Thanks
    SC | MC

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard greatwhitedope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    What?
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniRoss View Post
    Yeah, that processor will be more than enough. Like you said, it'll need more RAM and depending on the size of your music collection, you may need to upgrade your HDD too.

    If you're unsure about using Mac as a primary operating system, you can always dual boot it with more or less any Windows version...

    http://thegadgets.net/trickt-boy/tip...ows-7-on-a-pc/
    Just make sure it has snow leopard. If it doesn't it's only a $29 upgrade and Bootcamp is way more reliable and the drivers are better. Plus you can set it so that your Windows partition is your startup disk and it will boot up in Windows every time you turn the computer on. Then, when you want to use the s4 just hold down the option key when you boot up and choose the osx partition. And, like everyone else said the processor should be fine just add more RAM, 4GB should more than enough, plus it'll allow you more horsepower if you ever get into production or start working with DAWs and their sometimes resource-heavy plug-ins. Plus, 4 GB is going for like $79 either single or dual channel.
    MacBook Pro (2.66 i7| 8GB RAM| 500 GB 7200 RPM) | Ableton 8 Suite | Logic Pro 9 | Kontrol S4 | AIAIAI TMA-1 | Akai MPK 25 | Apogee Duet 2 | KRK RP5s

  6. #6
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    in other words yes ask for leopard.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  7. #7
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,747

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    in other words yes ask for leopard.
    No, get snow leopard. They're different.

    If he makes you pay anything tell him to stuff it. A full copy of snow leopard costs like $29 and anyone could install it. Just click on the "customize" button when you see it and disable language packs and printer drivers…you don't need them and they take up a lot of space.

    Other than that, keep clicking yes. It's no harder than installing Windows.

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    ah right, I thought the $29 was only the upgrade from leopard to snow leopard. I am aware that they're different
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  9. #9
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Do it and when you get the ram max that sucker out!!!
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  10. #10
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicky H View Post
    One more question - he say's he's just formatted it and it's got OS X Tiger on, but if I want he'll put Leopard on for me.

    Which should I go for - remember all I want is to use it for dj'ing with my S4.
    Thanks
    Tiger, is not supported, Leopard and Snow Leopard ($29 DVD) FTW.

    I forgot to mention if you upgrade the HD, its major surgery, i've done it several times and its does take some time and the right tools.

    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/I...lacement/486/1

    ^step by step with pix
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •