Noob Needing Direction!

Default Noob Needing Direction!

Hi guys,

So I finally got round to getting a DJ controller! BCD3000 with Behringer HPM1000 headphones $149 AUD brand new delivered for the lot, It was a sale and due to the fact I've been busy buying other stuff I could actually afford this!

Motorbikes...who'd have em?!

Anyways,

I have been getting my download on over at housemusicparty.info and have start to jump in and just fart arsing round trying to mix and beatmatch!

I've taken away the sync button in my mapping so that it forces me to do it manually, that way I'll learn how to beatmatch without being reliant on a syncing engine!

Being a beginner I'm assuming I should just start off by knowing 2-4 tracks REALLY well and just practise blending in and out of these tracks smoothly and tastefully? all the while learning the basics of frequency and level management?

I have just tried putting accapellas over a house track and it's pretty hard to do on the fly, i had the vocals for say my name by TLC and some decent fitting house track! Should I just stick to mixing my tracks in their simplest form first before doing any accapella overdubs, etc?

If you guys could just steer me in the right direction and maybe even suggest some sort of practise regime i can employ that will allow me to understand become more familiar with DJing in general?

Thanks heaps guys,

I left here a while ago and hoping you guys will take me back in!
    MixCloud

Mac Mini w/2GB Ram + Traktor 1.2 + BCD3000 + 61 Midi Keyboard + Samson Q1U

buy some music so you have a good 40-50 tracks in your playlist, scramble them all up and start djing and picking the next tracks at random. if you mess up the transitions, dont stop and get angry - think about why you messed up (what went wrong) and then the next time a transition like that comes along try to do it better. Loose explanation :P