Is S4 software better at BPM detection / auto beatgrid than traktor Pro?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Default Is S4 software better at BPM detection / auto beatgrid than traktor Pro?

    Hi,

    Is the new software with the S4 any better at detecting BPM and auto beatgridding that Traktor Pro / scratch Pro etc?

    I find Pro to be pretty bad and nowhere near as good as CDJ1000's at getting BPM right and have a real pain beatgridding stuff.

    Am hoping there has been some improvements in this area with S4 version of software :-)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Several threads on this already. I think S4 is quite a bit better than Tpro.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3

    Default

    Ok thanks. Search didnt return anything so thats weird.

  4. #4
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I'll give the main example that helped me confirm it did a better job. I had one song that Traktor Pro analyzed at 123 BPM. I had to physically tighten the grid to 128 to get it right. Going from 123 to 128 is quite time consuming and it took me a bit to finally nail it. So i took that same song, killed the grid and S4 analyzed that same song at 128 off the bat then it just need the customary little nudge to get the grid lined up just right.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,098

    Default

    Photo, there are a lot of threads on BPM auto detection but I really don't feel like reading through all of them. Is there a way to "fix" my Traktor so that it automatically reads all the BPMS of all my tracks? At the moment it only reads about 15% of the songs BPM.

    Tytyty! <3

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Well there's a setting in preferences to auto detect BPM when you import the track to your collection. And you can always right click on a song and detect BPM.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    Well there's a setting in preferences to auto detect BPM when you import the track to your collection. And you can always right click on a song and detect BPM.
    Ahh, the thing is I play all my tunes from my itunes library. Should I just import it all into Traktor? And if I do that does it make like a double copy on my hard drive?

    Thank you for all your help!

  8. #8
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    No, importing to collection just tells traktor where it is. No double copy and imo better performance.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    No, importing to collection just tells traktor where it is. No double copy and imo better performance.

    Gotcha! Ty!

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I had LE before, and it was night and day with BPM detection.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •