Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,569

    Default Can't import MP3's in Ableton Live 8

    Up until now I converted all my files before using them in Live to WAV but its time to resolve that issue.

    Everytime I try to drag a MP3-file into Live it says "the file.... couldn't be read. It could be defect or not licensed" (translated from German).

    I know that the Lite-version can't import MP3s but its a legit full-version.

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard greatwhitedope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    What?
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HedgeHog View Post
    Up until now I converted all my files before using them in Live to WAV but its time to resolve that issue.

    Everytime I try to drag a MP3-file into Live it says "the file.... couldn't be read. It could be defect or not licensed" (translated from German).

    I know that the Lite-version can't import MP3s but its a legit full-version.
    Update / Install the latest version of Quicktime
    MacBook Pro (2.66 i7| 8GB RAM| 500 GB 7200 RPM) | Ableton 8 Suite | Logic Pro 9 | Kontrol S4 | AIAIAI TMA-1 | Akai MPK 25 | Apogee Duet 2 | KRK RP5s

  3. #3
    DJTT Ninja Admin tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    10,786

    Default

    +1 This usually has to do with mp3 and quicktime.


    Ableton seems to depend on the mp3 engine of quicktime.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  4. #4
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,569

    Default

    Thanks a lot, that worked.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard greatwhitedope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    What?
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Any time my man
    MacBook Pro (2.66 i7| 8GB RAM| 500 GB 7200 RPM) | Ableton 8 Suite | Logic Pro 9 | Kontrol S4 | AIAIAI TMA-1 | Akai MPK 25 | Apogee Duet 2 | KRK RP5s

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,624

    Default

    Since when you cant import MP3's into lite o.O
    thats why mine dose'nt work lol >.<
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    200

    Default

    Thanks for this post guys. Ive had the same problem and would convert to wav to get around this, Had no idea it had to do with (effing) Quicktime.

  8. #8
    DJTT Ninja Admin tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    10,786

    Default

    It still boggles me why:

    - yes, I can understand why, using proven concepts to secure components.
    - no, I don't understand why, using something that is not controlled by yourself.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    being snarky
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tekki View Post
    It still boggles me why:

    - yes, I can understand why, using proven concepts to secure components.
    There are more security holes in Quicktime than there are holes in a Swiss cheese. (PSA: If you're on the Windows platform, you should update to 7.6.9 ASAP, otherwise you're subject to no less than fifteen vulnerabilities.)

    - no, I don't understand why, using something that is not controlled by yourself.
    I think they're using it to save $$$ (by using the external Quicktime, they don't have to pay licensing fees. If they used something internal instead, they'd have to pay license fees for usage of the codec as Ableton is a commercial product and MP3 is patent-protected until ~2017.

  10. #10
    DJTT Ninja Admin tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    10,786

    Default

    Windows... :P

    Mac over here.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •