Best places to go to hear new music
    Tech Guru

Default Best places to go to hear new music

Hi,
    My name is Matt, I am new to dj'ing and also to electronica (house, trance, etc.) where is the best place to find/hear new music or good songs to play, do you know of any websites geared to that? I have tried listening to Armin Van Buuren's weekly radio show to hear songs from there, and have had some success, but I am still new to the music and want to expand my horizons, can anyone recommend a website suitable for this or maybe one that has a good list that I can learn from. It is difficult for me to distinguish the different sub-genres within electronica, and I want to have a better understanding of what each one is, so I can find out what I like.

-Matt
    Last edited by mpetersen3; 12-10-2008 at 03:47 PM.

Hi Matt,

A fairly easy way to find out what styles you may like and to be able to put a name with those styles as well as with some artists is to first get a pen and paper. Its always good to have one nearby when your surfing around for music/inspiration just so you can jot notes for reference.

I recommend starting out at beatport.com

Start by clicking on genres located in the top left corner of beatports homepage. That will open up a template in the center with all the genres that the company breaks their music catalog into. Breaks, electro house, minimal and so on.

Click on the actual name of the genre that you want to start with. Now the center screen will change again. In the top left corner of the center image youll see however many number of releases there are in that genre.

Click on that number. Now you will see images in the center and page numbers along the top of the center image.

Click an image. This loads a page in the center with all the tracks and track info into the center.

Click the little speaker icon next to a track that seems good to you.