How did you?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How did you?

Tech Mentor

Default How did you?

How did everyone get past the whole roadblock of what equiptment to use when playing at a venue? The reason i ask is, I've heard some people bash me behind my back for using controllers as opposed to turntables or CDJs. Even as a beginner, I'm trying to formulate what I should use and practice with, I guess what I'm trying to get at is I'm used to the "ideal dj" image of someone on huge turntables. How did everyone get past that notion - and also what would be a standard "ideal" gear set to use at venues.
    Live Gear : MacBook Pro 13" & 15" (depends which one I grab), Kontrol S4, Midi-Fighter, Shure SRH750DJ, Dedication.
    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    itajen just told Chilly to read the fucking manual... lol
    *takes hat off and bows to itajen*
    Be the change you want to see in the world.

Good question! I have an advantage being in a small town, I create my own dj nights using my connections in the local bar scene, and no one can say $hit about my gear choices because I've got more bookings than them.

Seriously, Put on a good show and make the promoters some cash and it won't matter what you use. Bring the gear that you are most comfortable with so that you perform well, rock your set, and who cares what other DJ's say. Unless you are using an "industry standard" like technic 1200s or CDJ 1000s you will probably get flak. Just keep in mind that the people on the dancefloor are the only ones that really matter, and if they're happy, you're doing just fine.

Intoxicated /adj./ When you feel sophisticated without being able to pronounce it.

facebook.com/DJJakeLake
    jakelake.info

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

Real DJ's make people dance. If you're doing that who gives a sh*t about how you're doing it.
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x