how much is enough for traktor and ableton?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard Saoudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Jeddah,SA
    Posts
    94

    Default how much is enough for traktor and ableton?

    hi and merry x-mas DTT boys and gals

    since i have recently moved to digital equipment
    (thanks goes to dtt and the forum members)
    i was wondering how much is enough for a laptop and/or a desktop to run both traktor and ableton at max performance both at the same time same computer


    with lots of love and kisses
    Saoudi
    Last edited by Saoudi; 12-28-2010 at 10:01 AM. Reason: PS: i prefer pc's a personal reason ^^'

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Any Mac that's not more that two maybe three years old with at least 4 gigs of RAM.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard Saoudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Jeddah,SA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    thanks photojojo that was a fast reply
    but i would rather stick to a pc for a personal reason ^^'
    any ideas ? laptop and/or desktop

  4. #4
    Über Tech Guru Ed Paris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    l.e. city / germany
    Posts
    3,969

    Default

    Ibm! Avoid sony vaio's!
    I'm just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.
    FB/Ed Paris
    MC/Ed Paris
    FB/Wallach
    SC/Wallach

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard Saoudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Jeddah,SA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    ibm hmm any specific specs./model ? ^^

  6. #6
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,610

    Default

    Asus NJ series (music specific) - 500G, 4GRAM, USB3.0. Ditch existing sound drivers & download ASIO.
    Foolproof.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Something with at least an i3 chip and 4gb of ram.
    Equipment------
    --HP Dv6T Select Editon. i5 6gb DDR3, backlit keys and touchscreen.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,747

    Default

    Depends on what you mean by "max performance"

    My Macbook 2.16 with 2GB of ram can run them together just fine…midi sync, triggering samples in Live, using Live's effects on traktor's decks with either Live's mixer or an external one…that's all fine. I start adding complicated synth patches and everything borks out.

    IMO, any modern mac will work. IHNFC about PCs because I just don't care.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard Saoudi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Jeddah,SA
    Posts
    94

    Default

    thanks guys i really appreciate the help

    mostapha bro by "max performance" i meant something that wont get me any boo's
    (and who knows maybe a redbull can or two in my face) in a midlle of a tight set :P

    btw do you guys advice me getting a desktop pc into a mini case ?
    i have seen a lot of sexy mini portable cases
    and am wondering if any one actually do use them
    instead of laptops since they can be stronger faster cheaper and upgradeable
    http://www.google.com/images?q=mini+...w=1245&bih=834

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •