"Playin the mixer"

Default "Playin the mixer"

Hi,

first off I am a college DJ (been doing it for like 3 years but nothing professional...I do frat parties..etc) but I take it very seriously and want to keep progressing. I've been invited to dj clubs (i live on the jersey shore...its not hard to get asked) but i feel my skill isn't up to par quiet yet because theres one thing holding me back.

I'm good with effects, having a good mix, reading the crowd and music but i don't quiet get when i got a tip from someone to "play with the mixer" or do eq sweeps or the such...what does that mean? and how can i use it effectivly? if anyone has examples that would be great

Tech Mentor

I'm just an amateur too, but what I do sometimes is slowly take out the bass (not everything obviously) and bring it back in at once when a climax or chorus kicks in. That keeps the vibe going really, and if you take the bass out slow enough people won't notice it.

DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar

not only the bass, but you can play with the rest of the frequencies to make transitions super smooth or enhance certain parts of the song in specific moments. Having isolator Eqs really helps

^ Yeah what they said, when I just started DJing, killing certain EQs was my "trick" lol

Tech Guru

Quote Originally Posted by seitz View Post
    Hi,

first off I am a college DJ (been doing it for like 3 years but nothing professional...I do frat parties..etc) but I take it very seriously and want to keep progressing. I've been invited to dj clubs (i live on the jersey shore...its not hard to get asked) but i feel my skill isn't up to par quiet yet because theres one thing holding me back.

I'm good with effects, having a good mix, reading the crowd and music but i don't quiet get when i got a tip from someone to "play with the mixer" or do eq sweeps or the such...what does that mean? and how can i use it effectivly? if anyone has examples that would be great