A Simple Question regarding Traktor Pro Controllers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default A Simple Question regarding Traktor Pro Controllers

hello all,

I've got a pretty simple request. I'm looking to buy a controller for traktor that will fit what I need. I've done my research (Novation zero SL, UC33e, Vestax VCI-100 being the main contenders so far), but I still don't have an answer. I'd appreciate it if someone on this (very useful!) site could help.

I've been playing around in Traktor Pro for several months and have reached the limits of what I can do with hotkeys and my MacBook's mouse. I think the program is amazingly well designed & easy to use. (shameless self promotion: I did a twenty minute dubstep mix you can listen to here, [hotkeys and mouse only!]: http://www.zshare.net/download/52608858d30ab02e/ . Critique at will!) I will play mostly minimal, tech/house, and some electro and dubstep.

Basically, I'd say I just want to take what's on the main traktor screen and create a palpable version of that.

Specifically, here's what I need:

1) I am a HUGE fan of a) TPro's effects and b) looping, especially in tandem, and especially using two or more effects simultaneously. So I think I'd need lots of knobs (the UC33 has been recommended in this regard, but doesn't meet some of my other criteria, I don't think).

2) I only want to touch my computer keyboard to search and/or load a track into a deck.

3) I often use more than two decks.

4) A cross-fader would be NICE but is not required-- mostly I use the filter and/or gain buttons to "eliminate" a track. I also prefer four EQs (mid-hi, mid-lo) to three, but this is a relatively minor issue (as I understand it, I could just program a knob to be the missing EQ, right?).

5) I need the ability to prelisten to tracks. I know this can be done via external soundcard, which I am open to using if necessary, though I can't say it's preferable.