Do you use a physical sampler?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard Tiefer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    78

    Default Do you use a physical sampler?

    if so what midi controller or sampler you use??

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Posts
    139

    Default

    this intrigues me.
    what exactly do you mean by a physical sampler?

  3. #3
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    lol

    any midi controller can be used like a 'sampler'

    hell, i could use my dicers with ableton, no?
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Posts
    139

    Default

    lol. i was just unsure on what you meant by sampler.
    like, when i'm mixing i throw in some vocal samples and what not.
    just wondering if thats remotely close? haha

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiefer View Post
    if so what midi controller or sampler you use??
    I use abelton, So its bascily 8 channels of samplers.. The old pioneer mixers (for TTs and cdjs) has a built in sampler i used. but your talking like one of those APC right?
    Acer 1803T - Abelton Live 8 - Audio 2 DJ - Korg Micro X - M-Audio USB - KRK Rockit Monitors - Dell Xeon Desktop - Sony MDR headphones - Fruity loops - Acid Pro - Sound Forge

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    20 years aggo (or so) I used an AKAI S900, then an Ecler DS84, then sometimes my DJM600. Now I use Maschine, Ableton, OR my S4. There's still some good hardware sampler 'round, I would probably use one again, but for now I prefer to see the waveform on a screen, not to mention all the possibilities with VST etc etc etc.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard Tiefer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    78

    Default

    yeah i was looking at some of the akai's. im not an ableton user. i use serato so i suppose i cooould use a midi controller to control the in program sampler but a real old school sampler just seems more sexy hahahahaha

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiefer View Post
    yeah i was looking at some of the akai's. im not an ableton user. i use serato so i suppose i cooould use a midi controller to control the in program sampler but a real old school sampler just seems more sexy hahahahaha
    like vinyl?
    Acer 1803T - Abelton Live 8 - Audio 2 DJ - Korg Micro X - M-Audio USB - KRK Rockit Monitors - Dell Xeon Desktop - Sony MDR headphones - Fruity loops - Acid Pro - Sound Forge

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •