Newbie Saying Hi PLUS A Couple Of Basic Q's

Default Newbie Saying Hi PLUS A Couple Of Basic Q's

I have been observing in the background here for a short while having been looking into products etc. and stumbling upon this great site/blog.

My situation is this:

I have been DJing for 28 years now in the UK and have made a reasonable success during most of that time. I switched to complete digital DJing, via laptops, about 6 years ago and have almost exclusively used the old PCDJ Red program through a variety of run-of-the-mill mixers etc. for the past 6 years.

I guess that as DJs a common trait of ours is that we like our gadgets/gizmos and toys and recently I got Traktor Pro which quite honestly blew my world apart and reawakened the creative juices withing me that have been dormant for a long time now. Whilst the PCDJ program has been reliable and easy to use it has meant that there is little in the way of original and exiting stuff that you can do with it given it's limitations.

Seeing some of the demos and stuff that Ean is promoting has made me want to get back to being creative in my DJing on a musical level in the hope that I am not too old to A) get to know more about the finer art of digital DJing and B) get some work in this area again.

I used to DJ in lots of clubs, but got disillusioned by the scene in general - the clientele, being taken for granted - I guess looking back that I worked the same clubs for too long and should have moved on, but instead I turned to more mainstream forms of DJing that have served me well, but have never filled the void creatively.

I have always been a quick learner and hope that that the background knowledge I have, coupled with what's new to learn, will get me to where I want to be.

I have some basic product related questions that I would appreciate some opinions/answers to if some of you guys would be kind enough to comment on.

In the new year I am planning on buying a VCI-100.