PC Laptop or Macbook..?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default PC Laptop or Macbook..?

As a complete newbie, who has just bought a VCI-100 (and Numark DJ I/O), which would be recommended?

I had a quick chat with a Dj the other night whilst out, who was using a macbook (not sure which software he was running), and he said that software tends to run better and more reliably on a Mac than on a PC laptop running windows... Is this generally true or perhaps one of those myths that were more relevant with older laptops with limited computing power? And are Mac's generally more suited to 'musical applications' than their equivalent PC? I see alot of professional Dj's tend to use Macbooks over PC laptops (FWIW)..

Reason I ask is that I'm going to buy one or that other in the near future. I'd like a PC laptop, as I will use it for other things, and never had a Mac or even used one for sustained periods. There's also the issue of cost, Macbook's being that bit more expensive for an equivalent machine.

It might be six / half a dozen with regards to running Tracktor (although I'd like to run 'Pro' eventually), but of course stability and relabilty are major considerations if the laptop is the only music source available...

Thanks for reading!
    Ross

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

I'm having the same inner discussion now too, though mine is more in regards to Vista than anything else. Most people who use macs say that they are more reliable and stable, but I just don't buy it, to a large extent. If you treat a PC well it will work well. If you get quality parts and keep it clean it will work like a tank.

I don't know if the extra couple hundred to $1000 justify the Mac. *shrug*

But I'm in the same boat, regardless.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall

I am still thinking of adding an Alienware laptop to my list of possible contenders.