Help, VCI is Dead. nothing's working
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Help, VCI is Dead. nothing's working

    Hi, I bought the firmware upgrade kit last week but I was tring since last friday and not able to upgrade it, I've tried usb-serial (2 diferent kind) and serial-serial both of them without success. I tried everything what on the forums said.The problem now I can't even use with the firmware 1.1 the VCI don't turn on no lights nothing , I don't know what else can I do.
    that what i got with a usb-serial cable in my laptop running vista:

    Clock Frequency (External) = 22.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 1, and CKP = N/A
    Connecting to device 'H8/3052F' on 'COM4'
    Configuration:
    'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
    Opening port 'COM4' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
    Attempting 9600
    Received immediate response from device: 0xAA
    Using micro-Kernel : 'C:\Program Files\Renesas\FDT4.02\kernels\ProtB\3052\Renesas\1 _2_00\uGen3052.cde'
    Downloading and verifying micro kernel...
    Device is erasing...
    Erase Timeout value set to 21 seconds
    Erase Successful
    micro-Kernel download successful
    Sending inquiry for getting line size
    Buffer size has been set to default (128 bytes)
    Sending selection of device command
    Selection of Device - Device selected, code 0302
    Sending selection of clock mode
    Sending selection of clock mode
    Selection of Clock Mode - Clock selected, code 0
    Changing baud rate to 9600 bps
    Error No 15005: 'COM4' read time out
    Error No 16148: Unable to set baud rate value = 9600
    Error No 15016: Changing baud rate to 9600 bps

    and this is with a serial-serial cable on a friend's desktop running xp:


    Clock Frequency (External) = 22.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 1, and CKP = N/A
    Connecting to device 'H8/3052F' on 'COM5'
    Configuration:
    'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
    Opening port 'COM5' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
    Attempting 9600
    Received immediate response from device: 0xAA
    Using micro-Kernel : 'C:\Program Files\Renesas\FDT4.02\kernels\ProtB\3052\Renesas\1 _2_00\uGen3052.cde'
    Downloading and verifying micro kernel...
    Device is erasing...
    Erase Timeout value set to 21 seconds
    Erase Successful
    micro-Kernel download successful
    Sending inquiry for getting line size
    Buffer size has been set to default (128 bytes)
    Sending selection of device command
    Selection of Device - Device selected, code 0302
    Sending selection of clock mode
    Sending selection of clock mode
    Selection of Clock Mode - Clock selected, code 0
    Changing baud rate to 38400 bps
    Error No 15005: 'COM5' read time out
    Error No 16148: Unable to set baud rate value = 38400
    Error No 15016: Changing baud rate to 38400 bps

    It seems the same
    Maybe there is a problem with the Kit

    somebody help, thanks.

  2. #2
    DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,905

    Default

    Hey dude,

    Sorry to hear about your problems but if there was a problem with the kit it would have not performed the erase procedure and you vci would still be working.

    Hmmm actually you should be setting the clock frequency as 24 Mhz not 22 Mhz

    Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    yep- looks like you set the clock frequency to the wrong setting. Make sure you follow the video carefully

  4. #4
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks a lot. I can believe that I miss that, I was looking everywhere out to find the answer and it was always there and I didnt see it. I feel a little dumb.
    Thank you guys again, and now is working great.
    I'm so happy that I did the upgrade now I'm buying right away the overlay

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    34

    Default

    guys i got the same problem!! but im doing everything from the video!!

    Flash Development Toolkit and flash programming components
    are provided without support

    OS: Windows XP [Admin]
    FCF Settings Applied: H8/3052F, (C:\Program Files\Renesas\FDT4.05\kernels\ProtB\3052\Renesas\1 _2_00\)
    FDT API initialised: version 4, 05, 00, 008
    FCF Settings Applied: H8/3052F, (C:\Program Files\Renesas\FDT4.05\kernels\ProtB\3052\Renesas\1 _2_00\)
    Clock Frequency (External) = 24.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 1, and CKP = N/A
    Connecting to device 'H8/3052F' on 'COM1'
    Configuration:
    'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
    Opening port 'COM1' ...
    Loading Comms DLL
    Loaded Comms DLL
    Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
    Attempting 9600
    Received immediate response from device: 0xAA
    Using micro-Kernel : 'C:\Program Files\Renesas\FDT4.05\kernels\ProtB\3052\Renesas\1 _2_00\uGen3052.cde'
    Downloading and verifying micro kernel...
    Device is erasing...
    Erase Timeout value set to 21 seconds
    Erase Successful
    micro-Kernel download successful
    Sending inquiry for getting line size
    Buffer size has been set to default (128 bytes)
    Sending selection of device command
    Selection of Device - Device selected, code 0302
    Sending selection of clock mode
    Sending selection of clock mode
    Selection of Clock Mode - Clock selected, code 0
    Changing baud rate to 38400 bps
    Error No 16148: Unable to set baud rate value = 38400
    Error No 15016: Changing baud rate to 38400 bps

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    The most common fixes for problems seem to be using the advancedsetup.exe program that installed with Renases and changing the setting in it to slow the program down and making sure the VCI is propped up on it's edges to ensure nothing is activating buttons or knobs. Might also help to turn the sensitivity of the jogs all the way down as well.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    34

    Default

    already fixed it but i was so happy to go and play i forgot to post :P

    i actually changed the freq to 9600 (i think) and it worked just fine!
    thanx a lot =)

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Don't worry man! i can't determine your exact problem from that cos I don't know the code well enough, but see where it says 'Erase Successful'? That means it's deleted the old firmware but not installed a new one. It's not bricked or anything, just go through the threads until you work out your problem and you'll be OK. There are quite a few common ones.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  9. #9
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    ^^^^ lol just came back from lunch and realised I hadn't clicked post reply, clicked it then I see that it's all solved. Well done!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •